Boot loop on first rom install


Last Updated:

  1. jay_kay

    jay_kay Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    96
    I've rooted my girls desire (how rude!) But keep getting stuck in a bootloop after installing the rom and re booting.

    Its branded vodafone, created a goldcard rooted with unrevoked 3.21 took titanium and nandroids and then tried to install leedroid. Kept getting into bootloop so restored and tried again as per Dans faq but still doing it. Did a full write first time and second time wiped again and cleared devlik cache.

    Any ideas?
     

    Advertisement
  2. EddyOS

    EddyOS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    283
    Try another ROM?
     
  3. jay_kay

    jay_kay Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    96
    Will try teppics rom tonight to see if that works. Want to run it on leedroid tho so wanna get this resolved.
     
  4. jay_kay

    jay_kay Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    96
    just had a thought. I am putting a2sd+ on her phone. Have partitioned her card but not installed a2sd+ zip yet. Should I do that before flashing the rom?
     
  5. EddyOS

    EddyOS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    283
    Quick thought, you did wipe before first boot on the new ROM didn't you? It's unlikely to boot otherwise. And if you're doing dalvik cashe to SD it can take 5-10 minutes to boot the first time
     
  6. jay_kay

    jay_kay Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    96
    Yeah I always wipe when changing roms.

    Yeah I've learnt to give it a little time but it should not loop should it?
     
  7. EddyOS

    EddyOS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    283
    No, I'd be looking at an issue with the ROM so try another when you get a chance
     
  8. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Depends how long the animation is and if its set to loop

    If its a run through once animation and its looping, its a true boot loop. But if the animation is set to loop and it takes a long time to boot (building dalvik cache) then you will see this.

    If leedroid still uses BIOS animation, that is a run.once animation and you have a true bootloop. When building dalvik, it should end and go black.


    If the ext partition is faulty, may need to redo
     
  9. jay_kay

    jay_kay Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    96
    Yeah I've just downloaded Teppics ROM and also downloading the LeeDroID one again as just remembered some of the files I downloaded at work yesterday were not complete and some zips with icons in had a few missing.

    The Mrs is starting to get a bit worried that I am gonna kill her phone so want to get it finished tonight, install all the mods I've got ready and then hand her back a lovely new looking phone.

    Remembered from an earlier post I made when I rooted mine Teppic told me to run unrevoked again as recovery looked like it'd not installed correctly. Would it be worth trying that if the other ROM don't work?
     
  10. EddyOS

    EddyOS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    283
    Why you rooting the Mrs phone? Pretty certain she's not going to care about it being rooted so long as it works...
     
  11. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    If you can boot into recovery, its working fine
     
  12. jay_kay

    jay_kay Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    96
    She likes some of the modded apps that I've got on mine and I like the ease of Titanium and Nandroid. Simples.

    Plus I like pressing buttons and fiddling :p
     
  13. jay_kay

    jay_kay Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    96
    Yeah works perfectly. Does sound like the ROM file was corrupt or something.

    Would I need to install A2SD+ zip first if the ROM I am installing is the A2SD+ version?

    Was planning on doing ROM, Radio and then all the add ons inc A2SD+
     
  14. GrenW

    GrenW Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    799
    Likes Received:
    130
    Am following this thread with interest (sorry no solution only more questions) as I have a Voda phone that I've rooted with unrevoked and intend to put the a2sd+ version of the LeeDroid rom on it.

    You mention a a2sd+ zip file.... is this separate to the rom then? I assumed the rom (as its a specific a2sd+ version) would be fully functioning with everything it needs included in it.
     
  15. EddyOS

    EddyOS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    283
    It's seperate in Tepic ROM, LeeDroid has it included

    Basically, read the ROM specific thread for details of what it comes with
     
  16. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    what he said

    use winMD5 and check it against the md5 file on his site.
    as long as the card is ready partitioned you shouldnt have a problem with his roms.
     
  17. jay_kay

    jay_kay Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    96
    Just to say that this is all fixed now so thread can be closed.

    I had not formatted the SD correctly (chose fat32 not ext2, spanner!) so installing Leedroid with A2SD+ built in was always gonna be a massive fail!

    All sorted and working a treat.

    Now I cannot decide whether to stick with Leedroid or go back to DeFrost. Damn I hate having so much choice!
     
  18. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    leedroid for the wife, defrost for yourself
     
  19. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Or try something new..
     
  20. jay_kay

    jay_kay Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    96
    I want the best of both.

    I love defrost because it was super fast, smooth and liked the vanilla experience, plus not having sense underneath Launcher Pro felt cleaner.

    One thing I do a lot is transfer my files from phone to laptop and visa versa via Bluetooth FTP. On Defrost I could download an app that enabled me to do it but I would have to switch BT on and then open this app whereas in leedroid I just switch BT on...Lazy but I like the simplicity.

    Also I like having different LED's for different people. The Mrs is pink, my green seller is green etc ;) Unless I am wrong there was only orange and green in Defrost and they did not work that well either and a lot of the time I would not know I had a message.

    Was gonna puy Miui on the girlfriends phone but she said it looked too much like an iPhone and she would have bought an iphone if she wanted that but they're crap...Good girl!

    Think I might stick with Leedroid for the moment as its running really smooth, can't notice any slowdown (apart from on quadrant, I miss getting 1800+ everytime!)

    Anyone else got any recommendations based on what I need?
     
  21. EddyOS

    EddyOS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    283
    Look at the HD ROMs if you like Sense, RCMixHD is awesome
     
  22. turbohobbit

    turbohobbit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    19
    1800+?!? Holy carp Batman!

    EddyOS: What are the benefits of RCMixHD? Sell it to me, dude ;-)
     
  23. EddyOS

    EddyOS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    283
    Well, it's a port of the HD ROM so you get the benefits of Sense 2.0 which means you can also setup access to HTCSense.com (although it doesn't work properly yet BUT that's the site not the ROM). It's quicker overall, completely stock as it comes I got over 1700 in Quadrant. you also get the clock flip as it changes the time - little things but it looks good!!

    Only drawback, although not for me, is the lack of working camera but if you can live without that it's worth a go. If I was gonna go back to being rooted that's the ROM I'd use. If you wanna check it out look on XDA:

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=789830
     
  24. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304

    You can get more than that on defrost. Had 2003 once
     
  25. turbohobbit

    turbohobbit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    19
    Blimey... But is the difference really noticable? I presume it is but only when playing things like NFS Shift or watching movies via Rock Player (or similar)?
     

Share This Page

Loading...