Boot loop when replacing .jar

Last Updated:

1. Xdaemon

Xdaemon New Member This Topic's Starter

Hello everyone,

I'm new to Android - working on it for about 2 weeks now and trying to solve a problem when I push my compiled froyo .jar file over to my phone.

First, a little about my environment:

I have a rooted Droid 1 with Froyo and Bugless Beast. I am developing on Ubuntu 9.10 with a relatively updated kernel; Froyo compiles without any issues. I have tried this on two different machines with similar Ubuntu environments, and have the same boot loop issue. I'm using a simple approach to development - editing in vi and using make as my tools. I'm not building any .apks, so I'm not messing with Eclipse at this point.

Specifically, I made a simple edit to <froyo root>/frameworks/base/services/java/com/android/server/connectivity/Tethering.java, then did the following:

adb remount
    adb push out/target/product/generic/system/framework/services.jar /system/framework/.
    adb reboot

And now -- I'm sure you've heard this part of the story before -- the system reboots, then I get a boot loop shortly after my launcher appears. Replacing the compiled services.jar with the one pulled from the stock phone fixes things, but even if I remove my changes from Tethering.java, rebuild froyo, and push that newly compiled .jar to my phone still results in a boot loop, which makes me wonder about my build environment...

I have compared a normal booting logcat against one that is stuck in a boot loop, and the first sign of trouble is here:

I/dalvikvm( 1013): DexOpt: source file mod time mismatch (3cdb08b6 vs 3d52b020)
    D/dalvikvm( 1013): Stale deps in cache file; removing and retrying
    I/ ( 1014): ServiceManager: 0xacd0
    E/AudioPostProcessor( 1014):
    E/AudioPostProcessor( 1014): AudioMgr Error:Failed to open gains file /data/ap_gain.bin
    E/AudioPostProcessor( 1014):
    E/AudioPostProcessor( 1014): AudioMgr Error:Failed to read gains/coeffs from /data