bootload screen...


Last Updated:

  1. resident psyco

    resident psyco Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    8
    how do you install a new bootload screen? already rooted....
     

    Advertisement
  2. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
  3. istolvampire

    istolvampire Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    35
  4. Fadelight

    Fadelight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    95
    Not to step on any toes here... I know how much joe likes to repost the exact same boot animation over and over and over and over and over... (just messin with ya), but he didn't say boot animation, he said bootload screen. That would be the motorola icon you see when you first power your phone up, and it can be changed. I see no reason to believe the OP meant something other than exactly what he asked for.



    Psyco - You have to flash a new SBF in order to change the bootloader screen. I would love to give you more details than that, but the only how-to I remember seeing was over on Cyanogenmod forums before their forum crashed, and now it just simply does not exist anymore. It sucks, too... the dev was taking requests for bootloader images, and I had mine in for the Audi rings.

    There is a writeup floating around here somewhere about how to do it, as well. I'll do some poking around a bit later to see if I can dig it up, but you might have good enough luck searching on your own, as I am rather slow tonight. (Spent the whole day flat on my ass with a migraine.)




    EDIT: Found it.

    http://androidforums.com/all-things...eplace-motorola-boot-logo-your-own-image.html

    Happy reading!

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dEh9hGkKCDs&feature=player_embedded
     
  5. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    First of all ... don't be hatin'!!! :p

    Second, I knew what he said, but I assumed (perhaps falsely, perhaps not) that he didn't actually mean the bootload screen. I find that to be too much work just to get rid of Motorola's logo.
     
  6. resident psyco

    resident psyco Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    8
    I shouldn't have posted half asleep right before bed! I meant boot animation
    ..sorry for the confusion! I see alot of cool animation shots but haven't seen anything on how to install one. Thanks for the input!
     
  7. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    19,890
    Likes Received:
    6,118
    psyco, If you install Kangerade from ROM Manager, they give you the option of about a dozen different boot animations off the bat (I like the rotting Apple personally). But, it's as easy as copy/paste the .zip desired in Root Explorer. Keep in mind any time you wipe /data, you'll need to repeat this step as it'll generally put you back at the stock animation.
     
  8. skryer

    skryer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yeah, the bootanimation.zip you need to replace is located in the /system/media folder just remember to back up the old one first.
     
  9. Fadelight

    Fadelight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    95

    Umm, no.


    toss the bootanimation.zip in your adb folder, open the shell and type

    Code (Text):
    1. adb push bootanimation.zip /data/local
    Boot animation does not require root.
     
  10. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381

    Hey Fadelight! BYTE ME!!! :p

    On a more serious note...
    Although you don't *need* to be rooted, this OP is. Therefore, the easiest method is to just use Root Explorer and copy&paste the new bootanimation.zip into the /system/media folder and make sure the permissions are the same. my two cents...
     
  11. corbinator

    corbinator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    13
    Really?! I must know this.:D I haven't rooted, and I don't plan to, unless verizon gets stupid with my FroYo!!:mad: Then I guess I'll have to.
     
  12. resident psyco

    resident psyco Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    8
    i said the samething before...im not gonna root....jumped over the fence...rooted...probably will never be stock again!!!!! thank you guys for the help...installed new boot animation using the video above...easy as pie! i used the droid x "real" eye..fading into the moto droid eye! and to think iphone users can finally add their own wallpaper...hahaha
     
  13. Fadelight

    Fadelight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    95
    :D



    I typed out how to do it right above the part you quoted. You MIGHT be able to use root explorer to move it to data/local if you dont know how to use adb, but I am unsure.
     
  14. resident psyco

    resident psyco Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    8
  15. corbinator

    corbinator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    13
    Umm ok but how do I get to terminal to put that in? Like I said I'm not rooted.
     
  16. resident psyco

    resident psyco Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    8
    ok..changed boot animation...AGAIN!!!
    here's the new one now....


    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page

Loading...