Bootloader


Last Updated:

  1. stile65

    stile65 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has anyone succeeded in getting the Moment into any kind of bootloader state that allows flashing of ROM?

    I run Linux, so the New PC Studio won't run that way. I loaded XP into a VMware Player instance and hooked up the phone, and New PC Studio downloaded an update for the phone (CJ06 - the phone is running CJ05 out of the box).

    Then it set the phone into "update mode" and the USB connectivity died. VMware Player didn't see the device at all, so XP couldn't use it, so the update didn't work.

    `lsusb` hangs on my Linux box until I disconnect the phone. Upon reconnection, it still does nothing. `fastboot devices` shows nothing when the phone is in that mode. I was able to reboot the phone by disconnecting from USB and taking out the battery.

    So apparently it's some sort of software trigger to get the phone into the proper mode for flashing and the fact that I'm running Windows in a VM isn't helping any of that. I do have what looks like the two files it downloaded - one is a .tar file that I haven't expanded/looked at yet (but it's got CJ05 in the filename instead of CJ06), and the other is called SS_DL.dll and might be what New PC Studio uses to actually perform the flashing activity. The "product" is "SPH-M900" for the DLL file, so it's definitely specifically for the Moment.

    I really should install Windows on another partition rather than in a VM to test this, but for those of you who run Windows as a primary OS and have New PC Studio installed, hopefully this helps at least a little bit.
     

    Advertisement
  2. LincKraker

    LincKraker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    32
    while the phone is off
    Hold the Vol down, camera, and power button

    that does something. anyone wanna let a droidian noob know?
     
  3. stile65

    stile65 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    You're onto something, and it looks like it's meant for maybe installing an update from the SD card.

    I got a USB ID of 04e8:6601 and a description of "samsung electronics co. ltd z100 mobile phone" - but couldn't use it with fastboot on my Linux laptop, still.
     
  4. stile65

    stile65 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    So yeah, as you mentioned in the other thread, that's recovery mode.

    Did the Samsung rep tell you about that? Have they mentioned a fastboot mode? :)
     
  5. LincKraker

    LincKraker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    32
    i found the recovery mode using the PC studio software. it mention on how to put the phone into it.... no mention of fastboot
     
  6. ad5os

    ad5os Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Z100 interesting I think that was the model number of the original zarus (LINUX PDA) that ran QT... or Qtopia... which honestly is a nicer looking OS than android!.. I guess they gave up on Qtopia and went with android! :p
     
  7. glitch77

    glitch77 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I found a set of USB drivers that might work with this mysterious screen, download them here:

    senduit | Share easily.

    They only work in Windows XP/2K 32bit though. I run Windows 7 x64 so I can't confirm. :(
     
  8. kencrudup

    kencrudup Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    45
    Hey! Thanks for this!

    (I also run 99% of my WinXP apps in a Linux-hosted VMware, and most things work OK. But I also have a native Vista I can dual-boot to, so this is great news!)

    Also, I've noticed that USB connectivity is sporadic with this phone, most likely an issue with the USB "Gadget" driver (or OTG interface) for this OMAP chip. There's been times I can't even get to mount it as storage 'cause the USB won't enumerate with any machine I have, Windows or otherwise.
     
  9. kencrudup

    kencrudup Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    45
    I've tried this on two different machines now- one 64-bit Vista and one 32-bit XP, and neither were able to find the phone (I'd hit "Connection/USB" and nothing happened).

    Did you have to install phone drivers? If so, where did you get them- they didn't seem to be installed in the version I'd downloaded, and having it do the (sizeable) update didn't seem to help either.
     
  10. zippy

    zippy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    18
    Under Applications Settings, then Development, make sure you uncheck USB Debugging, this can block the phone or force driver loading on some systems.
     
  11. kencrudup

    kencrudup Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    45
    Tried that, too- the problem seems to be that Windows doesn't recognize the device ("yellow triangle" in Device Manager) and attempts to try and load the drivers from the "usual places" don't work.

    I found a solution on HowardForums I'm trying, will post it up if it works.
     
  12. zippy

    zippy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    18
    Ok, also, forgot, unlike before, let Windows search for drivers and they should install correctly. with the USB Debugging checked though, it would not even do this. Good Luck!
     
  13. kencrudup

    kencrudup Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    45
    OK, I'm dumb- figured out what I was doing wrong. There's a "PC Studio" and a "NEW PC Studio" and I was getting the older one.

    However, still no happy ending- it found the Moment, but when I cheked "Update" then "Firmware" it said "This phone can't be updated", so I'm still at CJ05.
     
  14. kencrudup

    kencrudup Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    45
    ... oh, and "USB Debugging" had to be on, actually- even says so in the manual I finally RTFMed :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...