• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Bootloop - No Recovery - No USB Debugging

A

Android Question

I'm completely new at this stuff, so please forgive my ignorance,

I was running PA 3.99, on a Nexus 4 and when the KitKat 4.4 aosp came out, I got curious. I downloaded it and tried to flash, it didn't work with TWRP, so I temporarily booted CWM using their playstore app and flashed 4.4, and after it asked me to get rid of the recovery.

I can't remember the exact wording, (it was late). It started to boot with the word "android" flashing in grey, it then booted for 7 hours. I tried to unroot and flash custom recovery using Nexus Root Toolkit 1.7.3, but it said "can't find fastboot device" I tried to reinstall the drivers, but USB debugging wasn't enabled, so I can't.

I then booted into stock recovery and on the advice of another forum I wiped data.

Now it won't get past the google sign.

It's still unlocked and I can get into bootloader mode.

In essentials, these are my problems:

Since I have no recovery, I cannot restore a backup
Since I can't restore, I need to flash stock and unroot
To do that my computer needs to find my phone as a fast boot device, but it can't.
To make it see my phone, I need to install the right drivers
To install the drivers I need USB debugging enabled
To turn on USB Debugging I need to not be in a bootloop

Does anybody see a way around this?

Reactions: anub
I think you'd best be served by signing-up with us and posting something in the Nexus 4 - All Things Root - Android Forums area where the folks that know you device best can help you out.

Since it is a Nexus device, if you can get the USB driver issue sorted-out (always such a pain, eh?), you'll always be able to flash a factory image and get back to a working version of Android.

Cheers and best of luck!