Bought a used droid with android 2.2 and wi-fi doesn't work


Last Updated:

  1. elucid

    elucid Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I try to enable it in the settings is says Wi-Fi and "Error" below it. Could it be a bug in the ROM?

    In phone information the Wi-fi MAC address in unavailable.

    Kernel version is 2.6.32.9-P3Droid
    pierce@MyDroidWorld #11
     

    Advertisement
  2. digdug1

    digdug1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,965
    Likes Received:
    309
    do you know what rom you are using?
     
  3. elucid

    elucid Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    No idea. How do I find out?
     
  4. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    19,890
    Likes Received:
    6,118
    Under settings -> About Phone -> Build Number and/or Mod Version, what does it say? Some ROMs aren't listed there, but most are. Alternatively, you can download the paid version of ROM Manager (unless it's not already there), and find out what it lists as Current ROM. Good luck, some ROMs have this bug, but it should be easy to fix.
     
  5. elucid

    elucid Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here is is:
    voles-userdebug 2.2 FRFxx 49593 test-keys
     
  6. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations! Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12,268
    Likes Received:
    11,696
    WOW. I think you need a newer ROM. Bugless Beast works perfectly and is great for beginners! (including me)
     
    elucid likes this.
  7. elucid

    elucid Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay I did an install of BB 0.4 and it has been alternating between the Droid and and the blinking red eye!
     
  8. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    When you flashed the ROM, did you first wipe data. cache system and boot?
     
  9. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations! Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12,268
    Likes Received:
    11,696
    Power off the phone (or pull the battery) and hold the x key and power it back on. You will either be in SPRecovery or Clockwork. You'll want to wipe data at minimum. Let us know what recovery you're in and we can go from there.
     
    elucid likes this.
  10. elucid

    elucid Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for responding, I was able to load JRummy 2.2 with micro-sd card reader, then everything worked fine including wi-fi.
     
  11. gnath9

    gnath9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    43
    nothing goes better with my coffee and doughnuts on a monday morning than a Happy ending :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...