• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Brand new android user, help with a few apps

syvmn

May 12, 2012
Another fresh android user here. I used to be an Iphone guy but then I got better. I just picked up my brand spankin new HTC One X from the Mall of America about 2 hours ago and have been dinking around with it since then. The only 2 apps I've downloaded so far are Facebook and Dice Player. 720p MKV videos look AMAZING on this thing.

Anyway... I am a horticulturalist (glorified farmer) by trade. I work outside 9 months out of the year and weather is the one of the most important things I need my phone to do. I was wondering if there is a way to make one of the "Panels" dedicated to weather. I'd like to be able to just swipe to the left and have a multi-day forcast, 12 hour forcast, radar, wind speed, etc etc.

Does anyone have thoughts on how I can accomplish this?

Thanks for any help you can provide this giant noob.

Hi, first off, welcome to the forums and congrats on your new purchase. I think you are looking for a weather widget. These are the apps that live on the home screens, being an HTC device, you probably have a pretty swell Sense widget cooked right in there.

I know the HTC evo does. I would only assume that the One X does as well.

Good luck. :D

Upvote 0
If you would like another option than the weather widget that came with your phone, there are several good ones in the Android Play Store. You will find it in your app drawer under P for Play Store. My favorite is the Weatherbug app. It is free, or you can purchase Weatherbug Elite to lose the ads.

Upvote 0
Hate to be all nooby again, but whats the difference between a widget and an app?