• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Brand new to Android - Few quick questions...

DFD01

Sep 4, 2011
Please bear with me here, as I am brand new to Android. FYI I will be rooting my Commando, if that makes any difference in the way these questions are answered.

- What's the best wifi iTunes syncing utility out there?

- What's the best hotspot app out there? How about the best free one?

- Is the default Gmail app decent or would you recommend something else? I have two Gmail addresses and about ten Google Apps accounts.

- Can my Apple Address Book "groups" be synced up to Gmail so they show up as such in Gmail and consequently on the Android OS?

- Likewise, is there any way to actually sync iCal up to Google Calendar so that updates from any of the three locations are synced across the board?

- Is there any way to deal with system files and such over wifi so that I don't have to constantly pull out the microSD card? What about normal files?

- Is there an app out there that will actually sync or at least download things from Dropbox just like a normal computer does?

That's all I can think of for the moment. Thanks in advance the help!

I can't help with the iOS related questions but some I can :)

- What's the best hotspot app out there? How about the best free one?

Barnacle Wifi Tether has good reviews and works for people from what I have seen. I also think there is a wifi tether app out there as well.

- Is the default Gmail app decent or would you recommend something else? I have two Gmail addresses and about ten Google Apps accounts.

You can access multiple accounts with the default Gmail app. I perfer to use K-9 Mail so I can condense my inboxes to one app rather than use a differnt app for non-gmail accounts

- Is there any way to deal with system files and such over wifi so that I don't have to constantly pull out the microSD card? What about normal files?