Branded or not?


Last Updated:

  1. dazjw

    dazjw New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    Apologies if these questions seem a bit dumb :) but here goes:

    I have a Desire that originally came from Vodafone but I am using a T-Mobile SIM. How do I tell if Vodafone have had their wicked way and branded it? The only Vodafone reference I can find is a wallpaper, there isn't any Vodafone logos etc. physically on the device either?

    Also, my software number is 1.19.161.5. I take it that this may not be the latest. When I do a check for updates it does not find any. I am not desperate to update the software but I am just wondering where the update would come from if the phone is not branded in any way?

    Thanks,

    D
     

    Advertisement
  2. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    237
    i take it the phone was already unlocked, or did you have to get it unlocked?
    Looking at the software number it looks to be a vodaphone branded handset, but i can't be 100% certain.
     
  3. dazjw

    dazjw New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    It was already unlocked, I just popped the T-Mobile SIM in and everything worked. Would updates work at all if it is Vodafone branded but used on T-Mobile?

    Thanks,

    D
     
  4. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    237
    You should get the vodapfone updates, you may find some may cause incompatibility with t mobile
     
  5. Kryten2k35

    Kryten2k35 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    9
    Vodafone famously don't lock their phones, but it could be branded. Try doing an OTA update to 2.1. If you can do then it's likely it's not branded.
     
  6. dazjw

    dazjw New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    Thanks for the responses. I have tried to force an update through the System Software Updates but it just keeps saying that my phone is up to date. Oh well:confused:

    Thanks,

    D
     
  7. Kryten2k35

    Kryten2k35 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    9
    Debrand it, then :)
     
  8. Intruder

    Intruder Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    16
    Got mine from the carphone wearhouse came unlocked and unbranded :)
     
  9. dazjw

    dazjw New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Now, be gentle with me but how do I debrand it?

    Have you got the lates version of the software?

    Thanks,

    D
     
  10. Kryten2k35

    Kryten2k35 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    9
    I'm always gentle :)

    If you Google "debrand HTC desire" and pick the result that's on this forum, trays the guide I used. Very simple and was very quick.
     
  11. Kryten2k35

    Kryten2k35 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    9
    I'm always gentle :)

    If you Google "debrand HTC desire" and pick the result that's on this forum, trays the guide I used. Very simple and was very quick.
     

Share This Page

Loading...