Breaking the 256mb app limit issues


Last Updated:

  1. JohnMcClane

    JohnMcClane Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    5
    Have you guys noticed any issues with an app limit yet? Seems like this 256 app limit is creating a lot of swirl around the blogs/twitter... Whats the real story from you guys using the phone since it has came out...
     

    Advertisement
  2. OctoMom

    OctoMom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's a non issue. That is a limit only for code which doesn't take up much space at all.
     
  3. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    People on blogs and twitter are misinformed. I doubt you'll have troubles with the 256 of onboard memory for apps. Why you ask? Because most apps are tiny (300-500K). What about games? Well their executable files are tiny also (a couple megs at most), and all the data (music, textures, etc) can be stored on the SD card.

    No worries.
     
  4. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    564
    Exactly, you can have 256 apps if they are only 1MB, and most aren't even that big. All the large files they need to run are stored on the card.
     
  5. MarvinAndroid

    MarvinAndroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    22
    Well... it is an issue to some extent... but probably not as bad as some people make it out to be.

    On that topic though... I am actually wondering if some applications put data in the wrong place or do not completely uninstall when you are done with them? I'm saying that because on my G1 I was CONSTANTLY running out of space after owning it for a year. On my Droid I have most of the same apps I did on my G1.. but I still have well over 200Mb left. So it almost seems like something was wrong and something was taking up a lot more space than it should have.
     
  6. JohnMcClane

    JohnMcClane Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    5
    I was hoping this would be the initial response from you guys... This has been a nightmare on my Tour. However, have not had the droid for much time so I didnt know what to expect. I just know my Pre and iPhone buddies are beating me in the head with it, lol.
     
  7. OctoMom

    OctoMom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0

    Well you are 100% correct there, this could be an issue with poorly written apps which are out there.
     
  8. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    Well, the G1 has 256MB ROM and the Droid has 512MB...so...that's why.
     
  9. MarvinAndroid

    MarvinAndroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    22
    Ahhhh. Good point. For some reason I was thinking it was the same on the Droid. But still.. it seems like my G1 was more full than it should have been considering the amount of apps I had.

    But in the end.. I had about 40 apps on my G1 some which I used occasionally and some which I used every day. For the most part that was really enough space. So twice that space on the Droid.. should be enough to hold me over until Google gets the Apps2SD stuff working.
     

Share This Page

Loading...