Bricked droid x, getting very frustrated


Last Updated:

  1. Mc8ball

    Mc8ball Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    My x bricked yesterday when trying to install the new obsidian rom. when i was in koush's recovery and tried to install it, it said there was some sort of error with the file so i just tried to reboot the phone. Yes i know that this was probably a stupid choice, i should have just restored my phone to negate the whole possibility of something going wrong, but of course i didnt. So anyways when i tried to reboot it wouldnt go past the moto screen. Ive entered recovery mode cleared all cache and data but that didnt work. Ive also tried to enter bootloader mode but it says " battery low cant program" even though it was plugged in all night. So does anyone have some advice? I noticed that in recovery mode you have the option to apply sd card update, could i use my girlfrieds droid 2 sd card to apply some sort of update? PLEASE HELP
     

    Advertisement
  2. jloya

    jloya Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    did you make a nandroid back up prior to trying to install the ROM?

    I would suggest booting into recovery and load the nandroid back up

    if your battery is saying its low you made need to let it charge, if you cant get it to charge take it to a verizon store and charge it up
     
  3. Mc8ball

    Mc8ball Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes i did i have a couple different ones to choose from actually, and oh so i can just take the battery up there or should i take the whole phone i just dont want them to see that i have rooted. My moto sign has been changed to the android pissin on the apple sign :D lol
     
  4. Mc8ball

    Mc8ball Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh and i tried that but it doesnt give me the option to choose a file to pick it just says apply sd card update.
     
  5. ThatOneDude05

    ThatOneDude05 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    22
    Wait wait....Obsidian Rom?????????
     
  6. Mc8ball

    Mc8ball Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    yea obsidian v3 from what people were saying i thought it would be sick, but idk either the download link is messed up or i did something wayyy wrong but i dont see how i could have ive flashed a bunch of roms with no problems
     
  7. jloya

    jloya Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    are you sure the ROM you chose wasnt for the D1?

    if you click install zip from sd card, you should be able to find out restore from there

    id just take the battery and not the phone
     
  8. Mc8ball

    Mc8ball Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    you could be right about that i dunno, but the only options it gives me are:
    Reboot system now
    apply sdcard: update.zip
    wipe data/ factory reset
    wipe cache partition
     
  9. travishamockery

    travishamockery Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    20
    It's from flashing a bad rom. That rom is for the samsung Vibrant from what I see in google searches.
     
  10. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    32,920
    Likes Received:
    25,271
    SBF time. Lemme know if you need help.
     
  11. Mc8ball

    Mc8ball Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay so I have the sbf (the gift) I have the bits installed and I have rs lite or I think that's what its called but my phone wont charge so it wont let me program in bootloader? Any suggestions other than just going to verizon to charge my batt?
     
  12. droid_freak

    droid_freak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    23
    Borrow a buddies phone to charge your battery, cut of a USB cable and connect the wires to the terminal on your battery if you have a spare USB charging cable you don't mind destroying.
     
  13. G.Armour

    G.Armour You know you want to. VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,534
    Likes Received:
    306
    I'm not sure, but couldn't you download another custom rom, place it onto the root of sd card, reboot recovery, wipe data and install update.zip from sdcard?
     
  14. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    599
    Not so easy on the DX because of the Bootstrap. It looks like he is only able to get into the stock recovery and not into Clockwork recovery. :( He will have to find a way to get the battery charged and SBF.

    GMB
     
  15. C0n57an71n3

    C0n57an71n3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    26
    I had a moment of terror like this as well. However, I rebooted the phone and plugged in the USB and it booted into Clockwork. Then I was able to flash my nandroid.
     
  16. G.Armour

    G.Armour You know you want to. VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,534
    Likes Received:
    306
    Well it was worth a try... But theoretically, if he could get clockwork recovery to boot up, my idea would work.
     
  17. Btros

    Btros Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    81
    There's also the thing that happened to me where I did 10 battery pulls/reboots and on the tenth time it booted into clockwork recovery. Might wanna keep trying that and see what happens.
     
  18. hyperlite

    hyperlite Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    5
    Keep doing battery pulls until you boot into clockwork, then just restore the backup THAT YOU MADE RIGHT?!
     
  19. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    599
    Absolutely, it would work. I tried for a couple hours the other day to get into clockwork from a stuck at the M state. I tried every form of battery pull known to man and never got into clockwork again. I have heard of people doing it ^ but its just the luck of the draw.

    GMB
     
  20. G.Armour

    G.Armour You know you want to. VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,534
    Likes Received:
    306
    Yeah, I've had this happen on the D2. Good luck man, hope you get your X fixed.
     
  21. GregTard

    GregTard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    99
    If he formatted system prior to bricking, then the bootstrap files that intercept the boot process would not be there right?

    Once you get your battery charged, make sure you have the right SBF. If you upgraded to the Froyo OTA, do not use the 2.1 SBF. You will not be able to recover from that. You want the 2.2 Full SBF if you were on the OTA Froyo. Check rootzwiki.com for it.

    If you run into problems doing the SBF, go here for some troubleshooting help.
     
  22. bouchigo

    bouchigo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,756
    Likes Received:
    1,026

    Mine does it every 3rd or 4th boot like "clockwork"....lol :p
     
  23. Mc8ball

    Mc8ball Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    okay so i went to verizon and got my battery charged to 30 percent do you think thats enough to flash the sbf? and yea if i could get into clockwork it would be straight because i could just restore my back up, but it just wont go into clockwork. I appreciate all the help guys
     
  24. Btros

    Btros Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    81
    Why don't you just get it charged all the way? Or at least to 50%.
     
  25. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    599
    :p:p:p

    Have you tried repeated battery pulls as suggested above? Have you tried pulling the battery, replacing it, and then plugging it into the computers USB port to turn it on? That worked for me once upon a time and booted to clockwork.

    GMB
     

Share This Page

Loading...