bricked phone


Last Updated:

  1. ianramsden87

    ianramsden87 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    14
    I've just tried to run the standard update from

    [ROM] Official HTC Desire RUU ROMS and OTA Update URLs - xda-developers

    and it stopped half way through complaining of damaged or corrupted file.

    I've now got a desire with htc logo in the middle and 4 exclamation marks in the corner.

    I'm unable to get a bootloader up!

    any ideas how to get this thing back up and running?
     

    Advertisement
  2. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Try download an ruu from shipped roms.

    Can you get into fastboot? Hold back and power.on the phone?

    If so you can run the ruu to.fix.
     
  3. ianramsden87

    ianramsden87 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    14
    seems I can run the ROM install again and it just gets to the same point 50% and then falls over about a file error.

    i've downloaded the .exe multiple times now and am really stumped :mad:
     
  4. EddyOS

    EddyOS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    283
    Which one are you actually downloading?
     
  5. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    It's obviously a corruption on the file. Is / was your phone branded? If so, what carrier? Have you got a goldcard? Which exe is it exactly?

    Need specifics
     
  6. ianramsden87

    ianramsden87 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    14
    i'm using the

    http://shipped-roms.com/shipped/Bra..._32.36.00.28U_4.06.00.02_2_release_124865.exe

    thing is I downloaded this and used it at home and it worked fine.

    I tried rooting it again at work using the reflash and the phone rebooted and just vibrated but it booted fine into the stock rom still.

    I decided to just go back to the O2 rom and send it back as there's obviously something wrong with the internal storage somewhere as now when I reflash the stock ROM it keeps on stating about a corrupt file.

    Could I flash it with another stock ROM from that page just to test?

    My phone is O2 branded and I have no goldcard
     
  7. EddyOS

    EddyOS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    283
  8. ianramsden87

    ianramsden87 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    14
    getting the same problem with a different ROM .......

    going to try it at home and if not get the sledgehammer out ........
     
  9. EddyOS

    EddyOS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    283
    So using the FroYo o2 RUU I linked to you get the same result?
     
  10. ianramsden87

    ianramsden87 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    14
    pretty much yeah. I can only assume that either the internal storage is corrupt or my work PC hates me.

    interestingly I tried the original ROM I downloaded again and it still at that version on the phone according to the app, so it's not even writing the image to the device.

    Is there a way of just installing clockwork mod from this state?
     
  11. EddyOS

    EddyOS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    283
    If you've got the FroYo RUU, start the RUU again but don't connect your phone. Once the first screen of it comes up just leave it but drag it down to the bottom of your desktop. Now, click on Start>Run and type

    %temp%

    Look for the newest folder created and in there will be a ZIP file called Rom.zip - copy this to the desktop then close the window and the RUU

    Rename the Rom.zip to PB99IMG.zip (not PB99IMG.zip.zip)and copy to the root of the SD card. Then turn the phone on whilst holding volume down to get into HBOOT. It should see the ZIP file and ask if you wish to continue. Go ahead with it and see if it flashes. If so, you'll end up with the o2 FroYo ROM
     
  12. ianramsden87

    ianramsden87 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    14
    it's not even getting into a bootloader :S

    holding down the volume button does nothing you just get the HTC logo in the middle of the screen with exclamation marks in all corners.

    If I plug the USB lead in and then back out again I get to a bootloader of sorts

    BRAVO PVT1 SHIP S-ON
    HBOOT-0.80.0000
    MICROP-031d
    TOUCH PANEL-SYNT0101
    Radio-4.06.00.02_2
    Mar 29 2010, 21:34:33

    RUU (in orange)

    triangles with exclamation marks in bottom corners.
     
  13. ianramsden87

    ianramsden87 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    14
    ok when it failed with the froyo install I took out the cable in frustration and got some more info

    BRAVO PVT1 SHIP S-ON
    HBOOT-0.93.0001
    MICROP-031d
    TOUCH PANEL-SYNT0101
    Radio-4.06.00.02_2
    Aug 10 2010, 17:52:18

    Parsing ...[downloaded.zip]
    [1] SPLASH2 - OK
    [2] BOOT - OK
    [3] RECOVERY - OK
    [4] RADIO_CUST - OK
    [5] SPLASH1 - OK
    [6] RADIO_V2 - Fail-PU
    [7] SYSTEM - OK
    [8] USERDATA - OK
    Partition update fail!
    Update Fail!
     
  14. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Arrrrgggghhhhhh

    Looks like a corrupt radio. Possible permanent brick
     
    ianramsden87 likes this.
  15. EddyOS

    EddyOS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    283
    Yep, going by that it updated to FroYo but with the wrong radio...bad times! :(

    Off to HTC it goes...
     
    ianramsden87 likes this.
  16. ianramsden87

    ianramsden87 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    14
    gah thought as much.

    Thanks for the help tho it's appreciated.

    now to see if O2 will replace it or if i'll have to go directly to HTC
     
  17. ianramsden87

    ianramsden87 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    14
    ok now here's the strange thing, flashed again one last try at home and phone works .......
     
  18. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Awesome. Lucky escape. Well done on not giving up
     
  19. ianramsden87

    ianramsden87 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    14
    now do I try my luck with the froyo rom .........
     
  20. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    I say root as soon as possible... but that's me.

    You'll have q custom recovery to back up entire roms. See rooting faq in Sig
     
  21. ianramsden87

    ianramsden87 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    14
    k this phone is probably still going back to o2

    I tried to root the phone using lekkys guide

    Droid Den - Phone Guide: How To Root The HTC Desire HBOOT 0.83 - Droid Den

    I get as far as the phone rebooting and then it just vibrates a number of times and stays at the splash screen, if I take the battery out and try the recovery option in the bootloader I get a red exclamation mark graphic.

    I reflashed the stock ROM back on and got the failure again! I reflashed again and it managed to get it back up and running although it rebooted again with the constant vibrates. Restarted again and it's now back to the stock rom

    RUU_Bravo_O2_UK_1.20.207.1_Radio_32.36.00.28U_4.06.00.02_2_release_124865

    Any ideas on what the hell is going on with my phone?
     
  22. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    You should root with unrevoked really. The red triangle, you press vol up and power at that point.
     
  23. ianramsden87

    ianramsden87 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    14
    that's how I did root it with the revoked way, finally managed to get the clockwork recovery onto the device but it still did the whole multiple vibrates and hung at the splash screen at least once.

    What does that mean?
     

Share This Page

Loading...