• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Bricked Tablet After Super SU Binary Update/Root

S

SteamPowerGlade

I've used KingRoot in the past to unlock both my (2.3.2 and 5.0.2) phones, with success both times, no major issues.
I later tried KingRoot 4.2 on my Android 4.4.2 tabket by HP, almost a year ago I think. The app was quick to root and in about two minutes it said it had rooted my device with success. I checked on my app drawer and there it was: Super SU - the app. I also think that the permissions were working fine for root apps I installed for test purposes.
I closed KingRoot and opened Super SU, it prompted me to update the SU binaries, using one of the two methods available: Custom Recovery (CWM) and something else that I dont remember.
I picked the custom recovery method and my tablet rebooted right afer that.
But instead of going to the recovery (I was a noob and didnt pay attention to the part "custom recovery" on the Super SU update window), my tablet started to bootloop.
I tried to go to the recovery but nothing, tried download mode, nothing.
I could only turn off the tablet using the power button.
I heard in some forums that HP locks their bootloaders so if you root a device made by them you will always get a bootloop in the end. I don't know if this is true, I hope not.
I thought I had bricked the tablet because of rooting but now I think it was because of the attempt of Super SU to update the binaries through custom recovery, which I didnt have, I had a stock Android recovery, so it simply bootlooped over and over.

HP eventually gave me a new tablet, which is still full stock, the only difference is that I had to make an extra effort to find the dev options, it seems like they wanted to hide it from the users? I don't even remember how I found them again.