Broken hyperlinks in email app


Last Updated:

  1. Jirv311

    Jirv311 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm curious if others are seeing this as well. I've noticed if someone sends me a long link in an email, I open the email in the email app and try to click on the link but the app isn't resolving the entire link. It gets cut off. Anybody else see this?
     

    Advertisement
  2. fuzzyreets

    fuzzyreets Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yup. Just got mine last night and I have that problem. Looking for a solution. Please let me know if you find one..
     
  3. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
  4. fuzzyreets

    fuzzyreets Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    1
  5. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    Have the person emailing you run the URL through one of those first before emailing it to you.

    Me and my friends/family do this as a matter of course, because all sorts of email clients can choke on URLs that are too long and wrap so it's better to be safe.
     
  6. fuzzyreets

    fuzzyreets Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ha. That's a lot to ask. Shouldn't be that way. i'm getting these from companies. Don't think they are going to do that for me.
     
  7. Ted1Jones

    Ted1Jones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    4
    I get the broken hyperlinks on my Galaxy Tab so I assume it is an issue with the Samsung email app. The problem appears to be that the app does not recognize the "slash" character (and maybe other characters, too) as being part of the link, so it splits it at each slash character. Of course, there are many slash characters in many hyperlinks. I don't know if it does this only on long links, or with any slash after the domain name.

    I've never seen this issue on any other device, including other Android devices. This makes email on these Samsung devices pretty much worthless which makes the devices pretty much worthless. On the Galaxy Tab, you can't even copy from the email app so there's no way you can ever use a broken link.

    Does anyone know if this has ever been called to the attention of Samsung? Seems like something they'd want to fix. Their engineers must not use their own devices.
     
  8. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    Try an alternative, improved email app? There are better ones than stock, and free. See the Captivate FAQ:

    Email - CapFAQ
     
  9. Ted1Jones

    Ted1Jones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    4
    One could do that, but really, a monster like Samsung not knowing how to handle a hyperlink? Or not even trying to fix the app once they became aware?

    A poorly designed app is one thing, but deploying one witout basic functionally and then not fixing it says something about Samsung. I just don't know what.
     
  10. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    Samsung has their faults, but this isn't an "appliance"... it's a handheld computer that revolves around the ability to install whatever apps you want on it.

    If a solution can be found easily, for free, in a matter of seconds... what does it matter? Choose your battles, install K-9, and move on to more-important things. :)

    K-9 is based on the stock app, is enhanced with many improvements and bug-fixes, is actively developed and maintained, and is free. Depend on the stock mail app, and you'll only get bug fixes and improvements whenever Samsung feels like updating the entire system software... once a year, maybe, if you're lucky. It's like depending on WordPad in Windows for your word processing, versus just downloading OpenOffice.

    Cheers...
     

Share This Page

Loading...