Broken power button on HTC DesireSupport

1. Asgan

Asgan New Member

HI,

So, long story short. My powerbutton broke because my phone got wet, so now i can't put my phone in sleep mode or take it out of it.

Is there any app i can use to change so that instead my search button (that i never use) puts the phone in sleep mode and takes it out of it aswell?

I have been looking at a link at wiki-droid on how to remap your buttons. But it doesent seem to work with Desire.

I might add that my phone has not been rooted and i would like to keep it that way if possible.

Advertisement
    :
  2. Intruder

Intruder Well-Known Member

Think the only choice you have is root it and put a custom rom on it as some use trackpad thing to wake and unlock it... Why don't you want to root it btw?
  3. Asgan

Asgan New Member

Well, mainly because i'm not very technical.

But i guess if i can keep my Sense GUI i would be ok with it.

There is no file i can change in like this: (sorry for the wall of text, but i cant post links yet)

4. amlothi

amlothi Well-Known Member

I believe Widget Locker allows you to wake the phone using different buttons. WL is a lockscreen replacement, and it's a paid app, but it's very good. This might be able to do what you are looking for.

Don't let your phone run out of battery though, or you might not be able to turn it back on! I'd seriously suggest you try getting it fixed instead of using an app to get around it, because there are some things that you cannot do without the power button and you may end up with a phone you can't use at all.
  5. AndyBones

AndyBones Well-Known Member

if rooted I can easily help you make it so you can turn your phone on using the volume keys, PM me
  6. pezzer

pezzer Active Member