brought a Desire back to Canada without reading these posts first...


Last Updated:

  1. v0yeur

    v0yeur New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Everyone - am new to the forums, and wish I had practiced due diligence and read up on the whole UMTS band differences between the N1 and the Desire BEFORE buying one and bringing it over.

    I pretty much know the answer to this, but I guess the antenna would be different from one used in an official North American model, and that it wouldn't be a firmware/software limitation of the device?

    Guess I'll be changing the ROM on my N1 again /sigh.

    hey - anybody want a previously enjoyed, Desire? :(
     

    Advertisement
  2. Karolis

    Karolis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    12
    So what exactly is the problem? I though Canada used the same GSM frequencies as the US. And Desire does work in the US, doesn't it?

    How much do you want to sell your Desire for?
     
  3. alanswalker

    alanswalker Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I emailed HTC to as about the desire compatibility in Canada as im moving there next year here is the email:

    New Response
    Hello Thank you for contacting me regarding the use of the phone in Canada. for most networks you will have no problem with using the phone. below is a link to GSMWorld that shows all networks in canada and the bands they operate on. The phone works (for voice calls) on 850/900/1800/1900 MHz bands whihc you will see from the link most networks do too. There are some that use the 1700 band which the phone has no 1700 band radio inside so i would avoid these networks if you can. hope this informaiton helps. Gary S HTC Desire has the following radios in (if brought in Europe) Europe: * HSPA/WCDMA: 900/2100 MHz * GSM: 850/900/1800/1900 MHz link to GSMWorld showing all networks and the band they use. GSM Coverage Maps | Canada

    So what i gathered it should work no problem, im sure i asked specifically bout 3g compatibility as well.
     
  4. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172
    3G wont work, as the US and canada dont use the right up/down bands.

    You'll be stuck with 2G and EDGE.
     
  5. weirdNumber

    weirdNumber Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    16
    AFAIK some networks in Canada have started using HSPA alongside their CDMA networks so 3G will work in some areas on some networks. The vast majority use CDMA though so you will be without 3G coverage.
     

Share This Page

Loading...