Browser App for Eris?General


Last Updated:

  1. JUNGI

    JUNGI Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    What Browser app do you guys like using for the Eris? We already have multitouch so dolphin is not needed, or are people still prefering it over the defualt browser? please post! thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. condog

    condog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    5
    i like the default just fine. its simple and works well.
     
  3. Eric2

    Eric2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    6
    Also happy with what comes on the phone, for the most part. Just wish I could figure out how to enter a url address directly.
     
  4. droid-dohrk

    droid-dohrk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    2
    Well, you press the Menu button, then the URL address bar appears at the top. Click it and that brings up the keyboard. When done typing, press the green GO button on the bottom right on the keyboard or that gray arrow at the top right of the URL address bar.
     
  5. thetingster

    thetingster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    31
    I like the default browser best. I think it is functional and works well.
     
  6. GrdLock

    GrdLock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    188
    I too prefer the default browser. I played around with Dolphin a bit, and although I like a few of it's features, I don't like how much room the tabs take up on the screen. I'd rather have the extra real estate the default browser offers.
     
  7. Eric2

    Eric2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    6
    Thanks!
     
  8. droid-dohrk

    droid-dohrk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    2
    You can change the Dolphin settings so after it loads the page, it goes full screen like the default browser does. I like it that way. Or I thought you just double-tap the page and that toggles fullscreen and tabs back and forth.

    However, since youtube app is not working on 3G, you need to use the default browser to view m.youtube.com and view videos that way. If you try to use Dolphin it will ask you to choose 1) download (you can do this and then load the video and it shows High Quality in the flash player, but you have to wait to download) 2) HTC Flash Player (doesn't work, all you see is the youtube logo) or 3) youtube app (which we know doesn't work on 3G)

    So, I uninstalled Dolphin a few days ago so I can use the default to view videos.
     
  9. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,691
    Likes Received:
    8,364
    I'm using the default browser this very second.

    I have thinking about trying to hack and install the BlackBerry browser though. Everything works too well on the Eris, I need SOMETHING to complain about.
     
  10. graywolferis1

    graywolferis1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    The default browser is fine. :)
     
  11. JUNGI

    JUNGI Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    ahh yeah i too tried dolphin for half an hour or so, then said screw it and uninstalled it. back default i go.
     
  12. smacky

    smacky Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    299
    I tried Dolphin and it was ok, but i was too lazy to re-enter my bookmarks in so I switched back. Plus it was too fancy. This default browser is simple and gets the job done. Typing on it now. I'm gonna shoot someone if this keyboard lag isnt fixed soon, though.
     
  13. condog

    condog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    5
    +1
     
  14. entelechy3

    entelechy3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not a huge Dolphin fan either, but the fact that you can set it to cache on the SD card, instead of on the phone's rather limited space, means I don't have to crawl into the browser app manager and clear the cache when my system starts lagging.

    For that reason, and because I can have the notification bar on the screen while surfing the otherwise-full-screen internet, I put up with Dolphin's little quirks :)
     
  15. jaboda79

    jaboda79 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    7

    If you long press the Back Arrow, you can clear the Cache then exit all in one. And the notification bar is a nice feature.
     

Share This Page

Loading...