Browser "Forbidden" Error


Last Updated:

  1. chickenlump

    chickenlump Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    3
    Lately, more and more I'm having errors in my browser where if I try to go to any sites, I get a "Forbidden" on a white background.

    It just happens at random times, and once that happens I can't load any pages until I reset my phone.

    It's not the data or the internet, because it keeps chugging along my push e-mail, and the facebook app wills till work and whatnot.

    I initially thought it was the browser, and downloaded the dolphin browser, but it gets the same thing too.

    Does anyone else get this? I'm assuming it's the phone issue and not the carrier, because I'm still getting data (in other apps) but I find it weird that both browsers does this.


    OMG, when is this fricken 2.1 update coming? My hero needs these bugs squashed and ability to get new apps!
     

    Advertisement
  2. G8D

    G8D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    4
    On data or Wifi?
    Any sites specifically?
     
  3. chickenlump

    chickenlump Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    3
    It happens while I'm on data for sure, and I'm pretty sure it's also happened to me once while at home on WiFi. (I'm rarely on WiFi so I don't really remember)

    It will happen at random when I'm trying load another site (it doesn't matter which one) and once that happens, trying to load any website will bring up that error.

    I think a 403 error comes up... which is strange because I would assume that's a server-side issue, but a restart of the phone fixes it.
     
  4. The_Gnome_

    The_Gnome_ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    49
    I think it's a Telus thing, as I see that once in a while.

    Email, facebook, twitter etc...all work, but web pages give that forbidden, or permission denied error.

    If I turn the mobile network off, then back on, it works again right away (I used to do a phone power off and on, but it takes too long heh).

    EDIT - I should add, I've never got this on Wifi.
     
  5. chickenlump

    chickenlump Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    3
    maybe it is a telus thing then. As I said, I rarely use WiFi, so I don't remember for sure if I got it with WiFi.

    I wonder why Telus has that error? And if it's a server side thing, why does it fix it when we reset on our end?
     
  6. The_Gnome_

    The_Gnome_ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    49
    Not sure, but I'm guessing it's some sort of authorization issue on their new network or something. By turning the phone off/on or reconnecting to the mobile network probably reauthorizes us or something....who knows.

    I'm not technical enough to know if that's even possible or makes sense, just a guess!
     
  7. Asmo

    Asmo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just putting my 2 cents in here, I am on Telus as well and I get the exact same issue, I just turn the network off and back on again, or switch over to wifi, which always works.
     
  8. The_Gnome_

    The_Gnome_ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    49
    Yea, exactly the behavior I see - since nobody on any other network seems to be reporting this (at least not that any searches of mine have turned up) I really do think this is some sort of Telus issue - maybe related to the new HSDPA network?
     
  9. Asmo

    Asmo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yeah it is definetly telus related, someone should open a support ticket with them, when they launch the milestone (droid) I imagine they will get a lot more attention to their android lineup.
     
  10. martinoosthuizen

    martinoosthuizen New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    This post is old now but showed up pretty high when I was Googling the problem. So if it helps anyone, I was getting the Forbidden issue on my android when using any browser. Other apps like Play, Twitter, etc. were working fine. Turned out to be my APN settings. The internet settings message sent from the carrier to my phone was incorrect. For example, the carrier message had "myMtn" as the apn, but it should be "internet". So I just Googled the right APN settings for my carrier and updated it under Settings>Connections>More networks>Mobile networks>Access Point Names (on Android 5+ / Lollipop).
     

Share This Page

Loading...