Bug 1: Can't detect SD card / Bug 2: Home screen w/o icons (with videos)General


Last Updated:

  1. Razor1973

    Razor1973 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Let me start by saying both of these happened in my first G1, main reason for me to request a replacement, but they are happening on my second G2 as well, so I'm at a loss for ideas.

    I am also illustrating these bugs with a video, in order to make explaining them easier. Sorry about the landscape format.

    Bug 1: http://tinypic.com/player.php?v=9s6lu1&s=4

    When I open my Camera application, I get a message error saying "Please insert SD card before using the camera". If I open my Pictures application, thumbnails are "broken". Now, the first time I use either of these applications after rebooting the phone, they work fine. Maybe the second time too. It's only after the third time that I start experiencing this. I blamed this on my new SanDisk 8GB card, so I replaced it by a 2GB one. The problem is still there, although I now get to open these applications 3-5 times before the problem starts happening. The only way to get pictures back is rebooting again.

    Bug 2: http://tinypic.com/player.php?v=34fy2pz&s=5

    Many times (most times, actually), I am using an application and when I hit Home, the home screen is shown, but no icons appear on there for quite a while. The application "drawer" cannot be opened or is empty during this time as well. You can imagine how frustrating this is when you are trying to do something quickly. Whenever I am using an application and need to switch to another, I need to wait 7-10 seconds before I can make that second selection. Could it be because I have too many icons on my screen? If that's the case, what's the purpose of having 3 available screens to populate with shortcuts?

    Like I said, both of these problems happened with both of my phones. They also happened with both of the SD cards (8GB and 2GB).

    Any idea what could be causing either of these?

    Thanks in advance!
     

    Advertisement
  2. derkk

    derkk Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    1) I personally have never had this issue like you explain. I took my card out one time and when I put it back in, I started having this. I took it out and put it back again and haven't had it since. Maybe you should reseat your card? Make sure it's in nice and firm.

    2) This is a memory issue. I would recommend that you quit hitting the home screen (unless you really need to stay in what you're doing) and hit the back screen. That delay is Android trying to freeze state your apps, so it has memory to open up another app. Yes this could use some clean up on the part of google, but it is what it is.

    If you BACK out of apps, it will close them down and free up memory better.
     
  3. Razor1973

    Razor1973 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    1) I've tried removing and reinserting the SD card numerous times, both cards. In fact, it can't really be that if the problem goes away by rebooting (always). It just comes back after opening Camera or Pictures a couple of times.

    2) Do you experience this too? You didn't say. However, about your recommendation, in many cases, you can't do this unless you hit Back many times. Think of your web browser. You visit page after page. Hitting back will only take to the last page visited, not to the home screen. Taking you to the home screen is what the Home button was made for. Unless every application has only one screen and no transitions between one screen and another (which most do), trying to reach home by hitting Back could take just as long as waiting for the icons to appear when you hit Home.
     
  4. noonehereyet

    noonehereyet No One... VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    78

    If you hit back multiple times and don't get your home screen on your browser it's most likely because you have multiple windows open an may not even realize it... if that is the case it will SERIOUSLY slow your phone down... for example if you have 4 or more browser windows open and hit home button it will take a good 15 - 20 seconds before all your icons appear on the home screen and if you have more than that open could have a worse affect not sure never have had more than 4 so... If this is the case then it could also be affecting your camera as it also eats alot of memory which would fore close not ask for your SD....
     
  5. dskyers

    dskyers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have the same problem every now and then i find that if i put the memory card into anthor phone that it fixes it self but does eventully come back anngo away
     
  6. Chris H

    Chris H Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok, possible silly question. Are you unmounting the SD card before you remove it? I've only had this issue once and it was because I didn't realize you had to unmount the SD card before you removed it.

    If you're not, the go to Settings:> SD Card and Phone Storage:> Unmount/eject SD card
     
  7. Razor1973

    Razor1973 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not, but it works as soon as the phone boots up. And it works for a while. Putting the card in automatically mounts it.
     
  8. Razor1973

    Razor1973 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I reported the home screen problem as an issue and it was apparently confirmed and schedule to be fixed in future release. See here. I also reported the problem with the SD card here. No response yet.
     
  9. EVO sen

    EVO sen New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    This sucks, I just started having the camera/media card problem, what the f?
     
  10. EVO sen

    EVO sen New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok quick update, I've been playing around with it for a while, what I ended up having to do is format the 2gb card, once I did that the camera recognized it and I was able to take pictures, and the broken picture message was gone... not sure how long this will last but I will let you guys know.
     

Share This Page

Loading...