bugless beast 7.6 now up on the other site!


Last Updated:

  1. jimbubba3

    jimbubba3 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am running bugless beast7.6 and man is it snappy. OC'd to 1.2 ghz too! Very, very stable.
     

    Advertisement
  2. rhyno

    rhyno Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just posted this in the rooting subforum :D
     
  3. Icedemon

    Icedemon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    2
    1.2?
     
  4. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    1200 MHz ~ 1.2 GHz
     
  5. Icedemon

    Icedemon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    2
    What I meant was that I didn't know it was at that kernel. I was running 1.3GHz. It was good for a day then it started rebooting every 20 min. I'll see how this one goes.
     
  6. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    I have just installed it - going to see if it is stock 1.2 OOB or if that is an updated image / Nandroid BU being used to take BB to 1.2.

    Will post back in a few minutes.
     
  7. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    1.2 seems to be built into the ROM now. I have selectable speeds of 250, 500, 600, 700, 800, 1000, 1100, and 1200....
     
  8. radikal

    radikal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    928
    Likes Received:
    10
    i am running bb 2.1, its not as fun as bb 2.0.1-7.5, so in a week or so if 7.7 or higher is out with more things changed, i will probably jump back, so many nandroid backups and replacing widgets sucks!

    is there a way to save widgets? wouldn't be such a big deal if i didn't have more icons widget! puts for icons into the space of one normal one! but i have to redo it every time i nandroid backup!
     
  9. altimax98

    altimax98 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    615
    :) It is fast. I had 0.7.5 and this is wicked compared to it
     
  10. Branndon

    Branndon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    30
    more icons allows backups now, so you can save your setup to your card and restore them later.
     
  11. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Since I was already using 0.7.5, I simply updated - kept all my apps, settings, widgets, etc. in place. Pete states that any 2.0.1 can be used with update to install BB....

    Not 100% sure, but I would guess that downgrading from 2.1 to 2.0.1 would probably be best done using a wipe and install, though.

    0.7.5 clocked up to 1000 MHz, 0.7.6 clocks up to 1200 MHz - so the speed is going to be noticeably increased.

    Nice, didn't know that. thanks.
     
  12. altimax98

    altimax98 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    615
    When I first booted back into the os i still had setcpu at 1ghz and it was noticably faster.
     
  13. radikal

    radikal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    928
    Likes Received:
    10
    oh yeah! i forgot more icons did that! guess the next update will probably see me switching back to 2.0.1 haha.... or maybe i will do it asap! i am not liking bb 2.1! just... doesn't feel the same!
     
  14. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    The OS itself seems faster (but I have run 1200 before, so it is not fast like I have never seen it before, but just faster than I was used to) but the boot process is being a major PITA - it is actually slower for 0.7.6 for me than 0.7.5 was....
     
  15. radikal

    radikal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    928
    Likes Received:
    10
    i am just gonna stick with 800 MAYBE 900, but 800 to start and see if i notice something different, kinda sucks that my apps suck up most my memory, so a clean phone is soooo fast, but then i do mybackuppro and it SLOWS down
     
  16. antni77

    antni77 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    quick question, there are two ways to update your rom , nandroid back up..... Remove your "7.4" update and add "7.5" update......restore from newest update, now you are running 7.5 with all your setting staying the same.....is there any downside to going about an update this way?

    Another way, which i have not tried, so i am not sure of the process. here i found it on pete's post

    Update (if available) all of your apps before installing
    -Backup any files you wish to restore, this will wipe /data
    -Extract the files from the archive using WinRAR or a similar program
    -Place the extracted folder (the ROM) into the "nandroid" folder on your sdcard
    -Reboot into recovery mode
    -Wipe data/factory reset
    -Wipe cache partition
    -Backup/Restore
    -Advanced Nandroid Restore
    -Choose backup (select the ROM)
    -Perform Restore
    -Enjoy!

    basically what are the pro's and con's of each if anyone could help, appreciate your time.

    -Anthony
     
  17. Icedemon

    Icedemon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    2
    That's the Nandroid restore way. As far as I can see, the only difference is you lose EVERYTHING off the phone and starting from scratch. That's the con. If you have problems doing it the update way then I'd suggest doing it this way.

    If you have your phone setup a certain way and love it then updating would be best. If you uninstalled some apps from his rom then it don't matter how you do it because they will be back once you go either way.
     
  18. bhm229

    bhm229 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wish they would patch in the Animated Wallpaper from the Nexus one
     
  19. radikal

    radikal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    928
    Likes Received:
    10
    meh, pete is probably working on it, he just like them to be BUGLESS, so if he half asses live wall papers, its not bugless
     
  20. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    19,890
    Likes Received:
    6,118
    Anyone having problems with the Nandroid update of 7.6? I'm now getting "error 21" when trying to do it (choosing all options under advanced restore). This is the first time I've tried doing a nandroid update as I'm thinking it might be cleaner.
    What I've done is extract the files to a new folder within the Nandroid folder, naming it something different and trying to use it (the folder) as my nandroid restore. I'm wondering where the problem is coming from?
     
  21. Geezer Squid

    Geezer Squid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    4
    If I recall, that error means you have a "naming" problem. Do you have any spaces in your new file name?
     
  22. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    19,890
    Likes Received:
    6,118
    Are you saying the folder needs to be named something specifically (as in what Pete initially called the .rar)? If that's true, then I'll change it around and see what happens.
     
  23. Geezer Squid

    Geezer Squid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    4
    No, it just can't have spaces in it. I say that because I renamed one and got an error message that I think was 21. I went back an renamed it taking out the spaces and it worked fine.
     
  24. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    19,890
    Likes Received:
    6,118
    Okay, everything looks alright, guess I shouldn't mess with Pete's instructions.
     
  25. gonzoguy24

    gonzoguy24 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,104
    Likes Received:
    41
    I just flashed this ROM...awesome as usual...Pete's awesome :)

    Shouldn't this be in the rooting section? Just wondering?
     

Share This Page

Loading...