Buying a phone


Last Updated:

  1. eljefe0000

    eljefe0000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    87
    well then pony up 600 for a new gs3 or get yourself a nexus 4 for a lot less
     

    Advertisement
    tube517 likes this.
  2. greenghost2212

    greenghost2212 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    43
    Well in my area the gsm carriers voice quality sucks and indoors data drops constantly. Nothing beats vzw and sprint coverage in Chicago now. CDMA or c u later
     
  3. Crashdamage

    Crashdamage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    2,726
    It *does* support HSPA+ in refarmed areas, that's kinda the whole point of the refarming project. I can definitely confirm it in Kansas City at least. Your wife's problem is probably that rotten apple phone.

    Linux user #266351. Android since v1.0
     
    SuperAfnan likes this.
  4. coco3133

    coco3133 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    35
    I don't have unlimited funds like you
     
  5. eljefe0000

    eljefe0000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    87
    i dont understand you want a phone for tmo but your willing to get an att phone we suggest you look on craigslist or ebay for something used for cheaper than buying outright from tmo. you dont want to buy a used crappy phone from craigslist or ebay, so the only solution is to either buy a new phone outright or not get anything
     
  6. eljefe0000

    eljefe0000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    87
    your right this may be possible im looking at band frequencies so i got a little confused as to whats where and yes rotten apples smell bad
     
  7. coco3133

    coco3133 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    35
    No? Get a like new or in great condition phone a person want to sell and because I live in a smaller town they go for cheaper then listed on eBay. And I want to do a trade + cash for it. So buying a new phone would be pointless because it would cost twice as much as from buying it used from a person.
     
  8. chong67

    chong67 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    953
    Likes Received:
    74
    Look at LG Optimus line of phone. They are new at $250 or less.
     
  9. coco3133

    coco3133 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    35
    I'm getting a HTC Amaze for 100$

    Think that's a alright bearable deal?
     
  10. eljefe0000

    eljefe0000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    87
    you can try and get a galaxy s blaze as well it has better specs
     
  11. walmart989

    walmart989 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    5
    If you like it, you like it. I personally ain't buying something that dude on craigslist probably dropped in the toilet or abused in other ways. Optimus L9 brand new in box from Wallyworld runs 199.99. Its a bloody great phone for 200$. Little low on storage, but a 10$ card solves that. And brand spankin' new S2's are only 299$- all day long.
     
  12. new optimus

    new optimus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    4,199
    Likes Received:
    1,454
    here in jax fl feb 1st they had the s2 for 199 with one month service at my local walmart, needless to say they were sold out.
     
  13. chong67

    chong67 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    953
    Likes Received:
    74
    If you see my posting today, you can get one for $150 on a brand new L9.

    Is $150 cheap enough? It got 4.5" screen.

    Any reason to buy used or refurbished?
     
  14. SuperAfnan

    SuperAfnan Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,089
    Likes Received:
    197



    So they refarmed it already? Let's say I get an unlocked phone with bands for at&t (ie HTC One x). Since it has a 1900 band will it get the hspa+ speed? Or will it just get 3g. Also, by 4G you mean hspa+ right? If 2g is edge, then what is 3g?

    That's nice news if they got it all done. :)
     
  15. Crashdamage

    Crashdamage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    2,726
    The refarm project is mostly done, but not complete everywhere quite yet. If you're in a refarmed area, which is likely, an AT&T phone will work for T-Mobile 4G/3G but of course must be unlocked from AT&T. HSPA+ is basically 4G (fast). HSPA is 3G (slower). Edge is 2G (very slow). However, Edge works with any GSM phone even in a non-refarmed area.

    Linux user #266351. Android since v1.0
     
    SuperAfnan likes this.
  16. tube517

    tube517 Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    1,509
    That's a great deal. I have the Amaze now and running a JB ROM on it and it is flawless. $100 for that phone is a steal
     
  17. mogelijk

    mogelijk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    642
    As Crashdamage stated, the refarm does appear to be mostly done. This does mean that you should get HSPA+ in areas that have it on any GSM phone (regardless if an unlocked AT&T or T-Mobile phone).

    And yes, by 4G I did mean HSPA+, though T-Mobile has started rolling out LTE in a few cities. And Crashdamage did a good job of pointing out the 3G/4G difference.
     
    SuperAfnan likes this.
  18. SuperAfnan

    SuperAfnan Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,089
    Likes Received:
    197
    I got an amaze too for 190 $. :D I can't wait till it gets here through the mail.
     
  19. whatsitsname

    whatsitsname Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    68
    FYI you can use Verizon galaxy s3 phones on TMobile and At&t. I've used it before.
     
  20. epp

    epp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    18
    If someone buys a refurbished phone from T-Mobile's web site, the phone has had whatever the problem was with it, corrected/repaired and the phone has then been tested to ensure that it works properly. Refurbished phones also come with a warranty.

    As is the case with refurbished small appliances (e.g. a coffee maker), the refurbished phone's packaging may be a plain white box.
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.
  21. epp

    epp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    18
    I thought the refarm project was to.continue through 2013. The local cell site to me, is still on 1700/2100 UMTS, haven't noticed 1900 UMTS locally, yet.
     
  22. SuperAfnan

    SuperAfnan Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,089
    Likes Received:
    197
    This might be a dumb question but how do you check? I'm in Jacksonville Florida by the way. :cool:
     
  23. epp

    epp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    18
    I put the phone into Field Test mode when it's connected to the mobile network. What that displays on my Samsung, includes the receiving and transmitting frequencies. Both of them currently display frequencies in the 1700/2100 band.
     
  24. whatsitsname

    whatsitsname Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    68
    The phone should always use the 1700/2100 band if it's available to it. That's not how you should/can test it.





    You should force your phone to use the 1900 band of umts. It's doable on Galaxy s3. I don't know how to do it on other models. If you know someone with an unlocked AT&T phone then just pop your T-Mobile SIM in it. If you get 4g/3g (anything greater than 1/2 mbps) speeds than you are in a refarm area.
     
    Crashdamage and SuperAfnan like this.
  25. new optimus

    new optimus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    4,199
    Likes Received:
    1,454
    Also in Jacksonville Fl in my house, which is in a neighborhood with lots of pine trees so the signal isnt as good as it can be, I get 9 to 12 Mbps down and 1.4 to 2 Mbps up.
    This is on a Nexus 4 with t mobile.
     
    SuperAfnan likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...