Calendar & Contacts help please


Last Updated:

  1. KimMazz

    KimMazz Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    I'm new to the forums. I've been reading for quite a few days now. I've learned allot and love my droid. I have 2 questions though.

    1 - how do I change the alert notification for my calendar? Originally it was just the standard alert. When I view the settings there was the option to use the standard droid alert of use a ringtone. So, playing around I cheeked use a ring tone. It brought me to a directory(?) or folder with 4 songs that I had downloaded using railio(sp) ringtones. Now that's the only place I can get to for ALL alerts and ringtones. Even for my contacts it goes to the 4 songs I downloaded from railio ringtones and I can't navigate anywhere else.

    I have gone into manage applications and uninstalled the ringtone program, but still can't get out of that spot for my alerts and ringtones. It's driving me crazy!

    2 - My contacts have multiple entries for one person.

    How can I delete the multiple entries for a contact? When I edit the contact information for a person I see 3 - 5 duplicate entries for one contact. When I first got my droid I synced with 2 google accounts - I didn't know what I was doing:eek: --- so, the information under one contact is repeated many times. Suggestions?

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. KimMazz

    KimMazz Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    bump ... no ideas?
     
  3. dossjh

    dossjh Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Assuming you have already set it up to only have one gmail account.

    I would logging the gmail account you have associated with my phone and edit the contacts in the My Contacts category. The force your phone to sync in the accounts and sync menu.

    Also, if some of the contacts have different info in the duplicates you can go into edit contact and pick join from the menu and it will merge the contact with another one.

    that would be slow for a whole list of contacts though

    doss
     
  4. KimMazz

    KimMazz Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    doss,

    Thanks for trying to help. I tried joining the contacts, but since they are listed under the same contact, just shows the information multiple times under one name, the joining doesn't work.

    Any ideas on the ring tone?? That's really making me crazy. And I can't find any information to change it back.

    Kim
     
  5. ItalianScallion

    ItalianScallion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    13
    That ringtone issue would drive me nuts, too. If the ringtones were part of an app and you've uninstalled the app, have you made sure that the actual ringtone folder that contained the audio was deleted as well? If not, a hard reset should clear the problem up. Don't know if you'd want to go that route, but like I said, I wouldn't be able to stand not being able to go back to the default notification alerts.
     
  6. dossjh

    dossjh Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Like the same phone number listed twice under the contact info?

    push the red minus sign.

    if its a bunch of contacts though i would still consider editing them in gmail.

    doss
     
  7. KimMazz

    KimMazz Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know if the ringtone folder was deleted. How would I find out? And, how do I do a hard reset? Remove the battery. Sorry, coming over from a BB and really don't know this phone yet.

    Doss,
    Actually, the name, email, address, notes, et al is repeated several times under google account a and then goole account b and then again for account a and then again for account b....

    I guess I'll have to look into the contacts at google.

    Kim
     
  8. ItalianScallion

    ItalianScallion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    13
    You'll need a file explorer such as AndroZip.

    To factory reset:
    Settings > Privacy > Factory data reset

    Your data (texts, call logs, anything not backed up to the cloud) will be wiped clean, so make sure you want to do this.
     
  9. dossjh

    dossjh Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you would like to remove the duplicates from the phone it is possible, just it would be a long process if you have many contacts.

    Delete the names in the name fields and push the red minuses next to the addition information. If it looks like there are blank and still there just give it a min and it should go away...or at least it did on my phone.

    doss
     
  10. KimMazz

    KimMazz Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    doss,

    Thanks. I'll try that if it doesn't work, I'll try looking at it through google.

    Kim
     
  11. KimMazz

    KimMazz Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not sure I want to go that route. I don't care about text or call logs, but I do care about the mail configuration. Will that be lost? How would I back up everything anyway? I installed an app that backs up to the sd, but don't know how to back up anywhere else.

    I do have a flie explorer app installed. I found the mailio folder and deleted it, but guess what? The songs are still there. Would restarting the phone take care of that?
     
  12. ItalianScallion

    ItalianScallion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    13
    If you mean the songs are still viewable within the notification alert choices, then yup, I'd power cycle. Sorry, should've suggested that first. I always power cycle if I'm having an issue. Turn off, remove battery, insert battery, turn back on.

    I also wonder if this app wrote the songs to the SD card.
     
  13. KimMazz

    KimMazz Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Powered up again. Songs are gone, but now when I go to a contact or calendar and choose options to set a ring tone I get the message that there are no ringtones or sd card cant be found. I think I just messed up. I know I deleted the right folder, but the phone didn't default back to the pre-installed ringtone choices. Although at least one is there. When I go to settings and choose the ringtone volume it plays the default ring tone for phone calls.

    Not sure what to do now short of a hard reset. how do I back up my mail settings? Or are they automatically reinstalled when I input my google account?

    BTW, thanks for your help and your patience. You're being so kind to a newbie.
     
  14. ItalianScallion

    ItalianScallion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    13

    I've factory reset before when I've had bugs that needed clean-up and, except for having to tweak my phone set-up again (wallpaper, icon/widget placement, etc.), I've had no issues. Once you input your gmail account, it'll pull your mail back in. Not sure what you mean by "mail settings." Of course, you should clear up your contact issues before you reset so your contacts come through clean. I'd consolidate them all into your one primary gmail account.
     
  15. KimMazz

    KimMazz Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have my domain running through google mail. All the mail is online at google. So, I guess I won't loose anything but some tweaking. What about all the apps I downloaded. They are all free so far, will they also be reinstalled? Not a big deal if they aren't, I can download again.

    I will definitely clean up the contact issue first though. Odd, if I left a factory installed ringtone for a contact it works just fine. If I had set a custom ringtone with one of the 4 songs I downloaded, the phone only buzzes when that person calls. I would have assumed it would have defaulted back to the factory installed ringtones. If only I could navigate to them everything would be fine.
    Thanks again.
     
  16. ItalianScallion

    ItalianScallion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    13
    The apps should repopulate. Have you tried going to:
    Settings > Sound & display > Phone ringtone? What's showing there?
     
  17. KimMazz

    KimMazz Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    The same notice. No music files or SD card cannot be found. The app I downloaded must have reset something to set that folder as the default and the setting must still be in place even though the app, the songs and the folder has been removed.
     
  18. ItalianScallion

    ItalianScallion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    13
    Yeah, it sounds like it corrupted the factory ringtone folder somehow.

    Factory reset will put the phone back to its original state when you purchased it. You'd be repeating the process of inputting your gmail account info, going through set up, etc. Again, I'd consolidate/clean up all the contacts into the one gmail account first.

    Just my .02...
     
  19. KimMazz

    KimMazz Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep seems that way to me too. Or reset a link to it so that it goes to their folder which is now non existant.

    will def do that first. Thanks for all the help.
     
  20. ItalianScallion

    ItalianScallion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    13
    Let me know how it works out
     
  21. bdal1

    bdal1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    9
    if you have your contacts on gmail then all you do is put a checkmark next to the two (or three, etc...) then click- merge contacts.

    I had to do it when i added my facebook contacts to my phone contacts, because the names might be spelled differently or what not.
     
  22. KimMazz

    KimMazz Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    update ***
    I sorted out all the contact information on my google accounts. I then reset my phone to factory settings and input my information again. The contact issue is solved, the factory installed default ringtones are there again and all is great.

    LOVE this phone! Reformed BB user and not looking back. Anyone want a BB curve cheap?? :)
     
  23. ItalianScallion

    ItalianScallion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    13
    Awesome! Glad everything worked out!
     
  24. KimMazz

    KimMazz Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just one glitch -- or small problem from my own doing, When I set up my phone again I used my domain email account rather than an old not used gmail account so all my downloads were gone. It's really not a big deal. I just got as many as I remembered and, if I don't have it, I obviously didn't use it so no big loss.

    thanks again for all your help last night, I appreciate it.
     
  25. ItalianScallion

    ItalianScallion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    13
    And now I'll know to stay away from any ringtone apps!
     

Share This Page

Loading...