Caller Cant hear me!Support

Last Updated:

1. SJamG

SJamG Well-Known Member

I am new to Android, so this is a very strange problem for me.

Picture this :

I am sitting at work listening to music at my desk when a call comes in. I pull out the headphones and answer the call.

I then am greeted by the caller saying "hello" many times then hangs up! This has happened more than a few times and am worried that my new Desire is faulty....until i came across this :

Callers can't hear me if they call when I am listening to music through headset - Android Forums

Now, I do have my phone's Ringtone volume set to Vibrate (to not disturb colleagues) this really effecting things??

If so, Volume Control will do the trick apparently, but I looked in the market and found 4, yes 4 programs....which one do people use?

Thanks for any help.

2. qprjim

qprjim Well-Known Member

same problem for me (but I'm not listening to music when it happens, its all the time) The person on the other end of the line cannot hear a word I say. I only received it on sat and rang orange earlier and they are sending a courier tomorrow morning to xchange it.
  3. Asphyxsia

Asphyxsia Active Member

same thing here but its only random... and will only do it once in a short time period...

My setup is - custom mp3 ringtone - max vol. 30secs in length
    max ear vol. happens regardless of music playing or not.
    i see that this time running apps are; voice search, brut maps, settings, phone, msgs and internet.
    only widget of interest would be mixzing.
    i have HTC_IME mod installed and active.
  4. Asphyxsia

Asphyxsia Active Member

Hey guys, found the problem last night by calling myself.

What it is, is that the microphone cant hear you unless you sortof cup your hand around the base of the phone. if you hold it higher up you are incredibly quiet to the person on the other end (read: not hearable)

so yeah... hold your phone lower - this also helps with signal.