Caller ringtoneSupport


Last Updated:

  1. Alexp08

    Alexp08 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    2
    how do I set a song as a caller ringtone
     

    Advertisement
  2. X10iUser

    X10iUser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,328
    Likes Received:
    332
    Settings - Sound & display - Notification ringtone

    But you need to set some folders on your SD with the appropriate folders, so create one called Media if it doesn't already exist, and within that folder create one called Audio, then the following within that...

    Alarms
    Music
    Notifications
    Ringtones


    ....then copy your tones to the appropriate folders, which will then show up when you try to change them via settings.
     
    jelsikstern likes this.
  3. Alexp08

    Alexp08 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    2
    thank you! next question, can i set different songs for different people when i recieve a text from them
     
  4. arkangeluk

    arkangeluk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    23
    I used the tone picker app to set an mp3 for my message alert but don't know if you can set different songs for different people. will have to try sometime. Ric
     
  5. X10iUser

    X10iUser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,328
    Likes Received:
    332
    Edit a contact and you should see "ringtone", choose the one you want, job done.
     
  6. Alexp08

    Alexp08 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    2
    the ringtone only works for when someone calls me, I'm looking for when they text me as well
     
  7. davidrsmorris

    davidrsmorris New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, why isn't that easier?

    I personally want to set up Arlington Alerts with its own ringtone, and that's a bot that posts to SMS via email through a gateway.
     
  8. 916x10

    916x10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    65
    I don't think you can assign custom text tones in the stock messaging app. But with Handcent, you can :cool:
     

Share This Page

Loading...