Calls wont come in while on the browser/Lost Text Messages


Last Updated:

  1. adampena21

    adampena21 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having trouble getting calls to come in while im on the browser? Also I am having trouble recieving some text messages. When i find out that messages arent coming through, i shut phone off and restart and i works fine for a couple of days, then it goes back to not recieving texts. Any suggestions?
    :confused:
     

    Advertisement
  2. *JonnyB*

    *JonnyB* Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    I dont know why you cant answer a call while on the browser, maybe connection problems or something?(And you cant MAKE a call while on data due to CDMA technology)
    And the txting problem,....join the club dude
    i have 3 issues i think that cause the SMS problems, 1:Sprint's coverage problem with SMS(they just have an issue with dealing with A LOT of txting)
    2:The Hero's problem with SMS(when you send a message, look at where it says EvDo and for atleast 2 good seconds it turns into 1x and then goes back to EvDo so i believe that if you press home/back before that process it doesnt send), adn when it doesnt recieve it might be on board memory shortage?
    3:Stock SMS is just a problem, try downloading Handcent SMS, or Chomp SMS(their free on the APP store)
    I still have a lot of these problems with my Hero and you just have to deal with it, i try everything but it seems that theres always going to be a SMS problem until HTC and Sprint come up with a update together, or the 2.1 Android update may fix it, lets just pray:]
     
  3. adampena21

    adampena21 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't have the EvDo. All I have is the 1x and an up arrow and down arrow. What is the EvDo?
     
  4. Frantic Ferret

    Frantic Ferret Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    1
    EvDo is the 3G connection. The symbol is Ev over up and down arrows.
     
  5. *JonnyB*

    *JonnyB* Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nah man that is 2G or edge, so all time you have the 1st and the up and down arrows or only after you send a message?
     
  6. nick325i

    nick325i Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    189
  7. adampena21

    adampena21 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    JohhnyB: Mine is always showing 1x Up/Down arrows. Have never seen EvDo there.

    nick324i: DDTM mode is unchecked

    What does call guard mean? (Settings>Wireles controls>Mobile Network Settings>Call gaurd)
     
  8. nick325i

    nick325i Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    189
    Whats does it say for your setting under:

    Settings > Wireless Controls > Mobile Network Settings > Mode of Operation ?

    Please report back...
     
  9. adampena21

    adampena21 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    It says Hybrid
     
  10. nick325i

    nick325i Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    189
    Weird.. Are you in the middle of nowhere texas with no EVDO towers nearby. I'd contact your local sprint store and ask something of that nature.
     
  11. adampena21

    adampena21 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think I will call Sprint on this issue, and yes I am in the middle of nowhere in Tx (panhandle). One not question on my settings > about phone > status > mobile network type it says, CDMA 1xRTT. What does this mean?

    By the way thanks for all of your help, all of you!
     
  12. adampena21

    adampena21 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think I will call Sprint on this issue, and yes I am in the middle of nowhere in Tx (panhandle). One more question on my settings > about phone > status > mobile network type it says, CDMA 1xRTT. What does this mean?

    By the way thanks for all of your help, all of you!
     
  13. nick325i

    nick325i Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    189
    Strange mine says CDMA EvDo rev. 0


    I'm pretty sure yours is suppose to say the same. I would point this out to the sprint people for sure.
     
  14. kennyidaho

    kennyidaho Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    5
    If he is not in a EVDO coverage area then it would not show EVDO it would show CDMA 1xRTT.

    EVDO stands for Evolution-Data Optimized or Evolution-Data only. Essentially it's a cellular network technology that provides your handset a faster internet connection. This is generally called 3G (3rd Generation). In order to recieve this you have to be in a area that supports it (the towers have to be upgraded basically).

    Think of CDMA 1xRTT as the slower internet connection (as well as the connection that handles your voice / text - that's why it switches when you send a text).

    CDMA (1x and 1xEVDO) do not support simultaneous data and voice. However if you are browsing the internet and a call comes through the device should disconnect and allow the call to ring through.

    Call Guard is an option that basically makes it "harder" to make or receive calls while roaming.

    As far as missing calls when browsing, if the DDTM option is unchecked then you should not have a problem. However it seems to depend on however the network feels that particular day. The vast majority of times it works fine for me (1x coverage area for me :( ) however if I am doing something intensive like navigation I might miss calls.
     
  15. nick325i

    nick325i Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    189
    Kenny - I just read that the status screen updates per whatever network you are connected to not like a built in standard so that makes sense. I have a thought though.

    Could the fact that he can't get an EVDO connection, be the root of his can't take a call while surfing. Does 1x support the absence/option of DDTM?
     
  16. kennyidaho

    kennyidaho Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    5
    It's possible that it's a network issue but it shouldn't be the root of the issue. Neither 1x or EVDO support data and voice simultaneously. Both technologies should disconnect the data connection to allow the voice call to come through. I live in a 1x only are and it works fine for me the majority of the time but sometimes it doesn't - just kinda hit and miss. I always rack it up to network oddities.

    However if over the course of several days it never works and the DDTM option is unchecked them it might be a good idea to contact sprint. It's possible the phone needs hard reset, replaced. Maybe a profile on Sprints side needs fixed, maybe sprints network in that area is just screwed up.
     
  17. *JonnyB*

    *JonnyB* Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow you just owned us all lol
    Well thanks for clarifying why it turns to 1x after a txt

     
  18. adampena21

    adampena21 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    I called Sprint today and the rep told me that you have to be browsing on wifi in order for you to recieve a phone call while on the browser. If you are browsing using the mobile network and someone calls you, the phone has to do one or the other, it cant do both. Thats why it sending my calls directly to voicemail. I dont buy it, but what can you do. As far as the EVDO, i live in an area that is 1xRTT so, bummer :(
     
  19. howiesf

    howiesf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    4

    The rep is wrong ! If you cannot get an EVDO signal, then you are using the 1x network and data will block voice calls from coming in. If you are in an EVDO coverage area, update your PRL via the phone, reboot, then change your settings to EVDO only. As long as you see the "EV" symbol at the top, your calls should come in and your data session will pause. Just my 3 cents
     
  20. adampena21

    adampena21 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do you reboot the phone?
     
  21. kennyidaho

    kennyidaho Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    5
    Turn it off and then back on.

    I am not sure sure about the 1x always blocking calls. I've received plenty of calls while browsing the web.

    Edit: I might be wrong about this...google searchs are showing up saying that calls will go to voicemail when using 1x data. I am assuming that my experiences all stem from the fact that the data connection is not actually active at the moment the call goes through. This would explain why if I am using navigation or tethering it seems to happen the most. So disregard some of my early posting.
     
  22. adampena21

    adampena21 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks to all of u who has helped me out on this. I appreciate all of u!
     
  23. nick325i

    nick325i Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    189
    WARNING ! You will not recieve text messages in this mode.
     
  24. BSki

    BSki Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    2
    If you change to EVDO only, I will guarantee that your calls will go directly to VM if you are browsing the web.

    I changed to EVDO, and while I did have better signal strength, I don't want to miss calls.

    Rather sure with hybrid on, the data continues to run on evdo while the voice call comes through 1x (where I think the cdma is) I am guessing, I am not a technician.
     

Share This Page

Loading...