Camera/camcorder crashSupport


Last Updated:

  1. ceider

    ceider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have been trying to use the camcorder bit of my HTC Desire, and need to use it quite urgently. Wouldn't you know the damn thing has gone buggy just as I need to use it:mad:

    It will NOT record, and it freezes the phone. Only putting it to sleep, or holding the Home key and chosing another recent app will stop it. However, it jams up the whole phone, which is evident when I check on System Panel, the CPU is constantly running at 100% Ridiculous.

    Can't say I've ever seen a problem like this before, but I suppose I've not used the camcorder bit since the 2.2 update.

    I am at a loss at the moment as to what to do. I'll be honest and say my phone has experienced odd problems since getting that update. The extra "features" really aren't worth the bother I am now having:mad:

    Can anyone help?
     

    Advertisement
  2. LECTER

    LECTER Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    233
    What class sd card do you have?
     
  3. ceider

    ceider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi,

    just checked there-it's a sandisk (2) 4GB...if that's what you mean?
     
  4. LECTER

    LECTER Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    233
    Video can screw up on anything less than a class 4, so I've heard.

    Try un-mounting it and remounting it and see what happens.
     
  5. ceider

    ceider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    1
    Nope, didn't do a thing, sorry. I have no idea now. I managed to get it working a couple of times yesterday. The 'flashlight' bit on the camcorder doesnt work either, that was the first sign of problems, and now it just doesnt record at all, and bricks my phone.

    Brilliant!:mad:
     
  6. LECTER

    LECTER Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    233
    Maybe a hard reset will do the trick...go get mybackup from the market first!
     
  7. ceider

    ceider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    1
    It didnt work. Everything reset, and still the same problem with the camera. :mad:
     
  8. ceider

    ceider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    1
    Still no luck. Using system panel, I can see that the top draining process after trying to use use camcorder, is mediaserver. Anyone know exactly what this is and how it works? I'm completely clueless, I'm afraid:(
     
  9. LECTER

    LECTER Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    233
  10. ceider

    ceider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    1
    thanks for that-looks like I'll have to book it in for repair:( anyone any ideas how long this would take?
     
  11. LECTER

    LECTER Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    233
    About 4 to 6 weeks. :(

    Don't forget the thanks function. ;)
     
    ceider likes this.
  12. ceider

    ceider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    1
    :eek: I am wondering if it's worth it...that's a ridiculously long time to wait, especially when you're used to using a smartphone. I've not phoned them yet. I may not bother if that is the sort of time scale:mad:
     
  13. LECTER

    LECTER Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    233
    Give them a call and post back!
     
  14. ceider

    ceider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    1
    I phoned them there about an hour ago and their systems were down, so I couldn't do anything then and there (have to phone again after 12)...I asked the all-important question of how long it should take.

    Depending on the fault, it should take 7-10 days apparently! Dread the thought of being without it for 4-6 weeks:(

    I will post back with any news:)
     
  15. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    try a different memory card,
    im pretty sure mediaserv is the process used by the file system to deal with media allocation you the mmc
     
  16. ceider

    ceider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks but I currently don't have any other media cards at the moment. Damn....:(

    I'll see if anyone in work could let me test it out on theirs:)
     
  17. LECTER

    LECTER Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    233
    Might be worth buying a small one to test out on, beats sending in your device!!
     
  18. ceider

    ceider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    1
    Might be onto something here-i took the card out, and while I am still unable to use the cam, it actually 'responded' to zoom and flash functions, which wouldn't work after the 'crash' occurred. Hmmm.

    Why should the memory card suddenly become a problem? Is this something which happened only after the 2.2 update?

    Finally, what card would people recommend? I've currently got a sandisk 4gb(2)...

    Thanks again....might just be getting somewhere now:)
     
  19. LECTER

    LECTER Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    233
    Have heard that sd cards can get corrupted somehow.

    I would get a card that is a type 4 as it reads faster.

    Hope we are indeed onto something! :)
     
  20. ceider

    ceider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    1
  21. LECTER

    LECTER Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    233
  22. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    memory cards just like any storage media can become corrupted for whatever reason.
    it wouldnt be to do with froyo.
     
  23. ceider

    ceider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well, after an initial wibble, the new 8gb class 6 card seems to have done the trick:D

    When I say wibble-the first few attempts, the cam responded to zoom and flash, butwhen I hit record, the damn thing kept switching off. I uninstalled the card later, put it back...and it worked. I've also had no battery drain from the mediaserve process. Hopefully that's it sorted-but too late for when I actually needed it, thank god for the old Sony:)

    MAny thanks to all for the advice :D
     
  24. ceider

    ceider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    1
    Oh the irony....took out my new card last night to use the old one for music. The camcorder now works with the old card. WOrk that one out?!
     

Share This Page

Loading...