1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

camera is unable to initializeSupport


Last Updated:

  1. kmwhiten

    kmwhiten Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I haven't had any trouble until now with my boinic. I tooks pictures saturday and I just tried to take one and this is what i got. "camera is unable to initialize" anyone know how to fix? I really dont feel like whipping it and starting over but I can if i have to later.
     

    Advertisement
  2. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,572
    Likes Received:
    1,876
    The first thing that I would try is restarting the phone. You don't say whether you tried that already, but that is an obvious first step.
     
  3. Thom

    Thom Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    10,445
    Likes Received:
    4,088
    I would try a "soft reset" ... hold down the Volume Up/Volume Down/Power buttons until a menu appears and then disappears. When it disappears release the buttons. The Bionic will be rebooting. This is identical to pulling the battery, replacing the battery, and doing a power on.

    ... Thom
     
  4. kmwhiten

    kmwhiten Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I already turned off and then on that didnt work. I havent tried the "soft reset but if you say its the same as pulling the battery then I have done that. I have also cleared the data on the camera app too.
     
  5. Thom

    Thom Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    10,445
    Likes Received:
    4,088
    I have not encountered this problem.

    Googling a little it has appeared on different models. One conclusion was that it was a hardware problem and you should take it in for service. Another conclusion was to go to ...

    Settings > Applications > Manage Applications > All Camera and select Clear Data.

    As I said ... I have not encountered the problem personally.

    ... Thom
     
  6. kmwhiten

    kmwhiten Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey thanks, I already tried to clear the data but that didnt work. I think it is a hardware because my flashlight app wouldnt work and the barcode scanner also wouldnt work. I am getting a replacement from verizon.
     
  7. damewolf13

    damewolf13 live~laugh~love VIP Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    4,087
    Likes Received:
    2,667
    Good to hear that Verizon is replacing it!
     
  8. Thom

    Thom Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    10,445
    Likes Received:
    4,088
    Excellent. (Well too bad about the problem ... at least it's getting replaced.)

    ... Thom
     

Share This Page

Loading...