Camera stays running in the backgroundSupport


Last Updated:

  1. ramcharger1979

    ramcharger1979 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    13
    So I was wondering if this is happening to anyone else. If my time since last reboot is high(I am saying over 200hrs) and I use my camera it will stay running in the background. The only way I have found to cure it is to reboot.
     

    Advertisement
  2. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    22,332
    Likes Received:
    7,598
    mine does every time, it listed as inactive but i just use systempanel and kill it, it always stays closed after that. also do you close it out by using the back button?
     
  3. sabrewings

    sabrewings Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    895
    Likes Received:
    104
    Inactive apps are just that, inactive. Their data is simply sitting in RAM for ease of access the next time you use that app (faster loading). No need to remove it from RAM. Android will handle that on its own.
     
  4. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    22,332
    Likes Received:
    7,598
    while i'm aware of that i am still trying to crush my winmo syndrome, lol. Just cant stand seeing a bunch of sh*t in there.
     
  5. Bug Splat

    Bug Splat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    34
    You and me both brother. It kills me to see 20+ things sitting there but after my own testing of auto-killing apps and not using anything I can say for my Dinc running an app killer was more costly in battery power than not using one at all. I still have a hard time accepting this being a former winmo user and MSCE but I hope to come around some day and just not worry about it.
     
  6. sabrewings

    sabrewings Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    895
    Likes Received:
    104
    Things in memory don't take power and are just there for quick access. I only worry about active apps that stay open when I told them to close. That's why I like System Panel, since it gives me a lot of info about how much CPU time individual processes are using.
     
  7. contagous

    contagous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    966
    Likes Received:
    132
    This is what i've heard to, And I do believe it, but why when I use alot of apps, do they all stay inactive using up memory? If Android should reallocate that memory surely those app should close and free up the memory, but unless I kill them with system panel now and then, my memory gets as low as 40mb free... Mainly camera apps and the market that stay down there and allocate them selfs some memory...

    Does everyones do this? if not how can I get it to close the apps when I'm finished with them, because it storing 2-3 apps in memory is fine, but when its up to 5+ things do start to slow down a bit.#

    I would like to try and keep it above 100mb free at all times, when its not being used, atm I just kill the apps thats are inactive after using things like the camera, but it gets a little tiresome after a while.


    Thanks
     
  8. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    22,332
    Likes Received:
    7,598
    just a bump cause contagous brings up valid questions, would love to know the answer, or advice on this matter. I feel the same about it as you contagous
     
  9. contagous

    contagous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    966
    Likes Received:
    132
    Yeah i don't see it as a problem, but would love it explains, because having 40mb left phones starts to slow down, but when you kill the apps that are inactive and get about 100 mb back, phone starts to speed up.

    So something is slowing it down, and not all apps stay in the inactive section, i've noticed some completely close, so is it just bad programing on the dev's part or is it supposed to happen.

    either way i love system panel, just gets tiring to close all the inactive apps now and then :)

    love my Dinc tho, so if this is what I have to do to keep an awesome phone running top, not a prob :)
     
  10. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    22,332
    Likes Received:
    7,598
    +1, not a huge problem, just something that bugs me is all, hell it is incredible, cant expect it to be perfect too:cool:
     

Share This Page

Loading...