• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Can a phone provide WiFi to itself?

CheeseJam

May 12, 2010
This is a very obscure question, anyway....

I recently downloaded the game called NOVA. It has online multiplayer, but you need WiFi to play(I think this is to ensure a fast connection). I am a rooting noob, but from what I understand, you can turn your phone into a WiFi hotspot--providing WiFi internet to electronics near the phone. Now, since this game can only be played online with WiFi, and since a rooted phone can provide WiFi, could I root my Incredible and provide WiFi to myself, allowing me to play multiplayer online anywhere in NOVA?

It seems like this could be possible, but I don't know. Is there someway into tricking the phone into thinking a WiFi connection is actually a 3G connection maybe? Thanks! :)

Thanks for being so kind guys, I really appreciate it! :rolleyes:

Is there any way to trick the phone into thinking it is getting a connection through WiFi, when it is really getting a connection through 3G.

And, if you read my post, you would understand that the feces comparison does not apply. Ultimately, the 3G would be providing the connection.

Upvote 0