Can Android 2.1 work for the ErisGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. renetrejo

    renetrejo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    4

    Wow, sounds like we're at Defcon 4! Here come the Soviets!
     

    Advertisement
  2. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,215
    Likes Received:
    638
    yes, i would think so.
     
  3. dsmith1

    dsmith1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    at start up google partner set up force close
     
  4. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,215
    Likes Received:
    638
    and you cant get past it to the home screen?
     
  5. dsmith1

    dsmith1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0

    i canuse eveything thatdoes not involve a google account . i cant log in
     
  6. whewstoosae

    whewstoosae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    8
    I'm super excited and super confused at the same time!?
     
  7. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,215
    Likes Received:
    638
    go to settings, apps, manage apps, and clear data on google services
     
  8. condog

    condog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    5
    THE UPDATES ARE COMING, THE UPDATES ARE COMING!! this sounds like a bad one though. I've heard reports that it doesn't include sense for those who get it working. And with no official documents from verizon or anything from HTC makes me worry.
     
  9. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,691
    Likes Received:
    8,364
    Well this doesn't look good at all.:(
     
  10. JoCo1289

    JoCo1289 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    2
    does this mean we will be able to download the ota on this site and update our devices ourselves soon like some of us did for the previous one?
     
  11. dsmith1

    dsmith1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    wish it was that easy. didnt work. thanks
     
  12. albiewan

    albiewan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    33
    Copy and pasted this from CNET today: BARCELONA, Spain--In addition to introducing two new Android phones, HTC revealed on Tuesday that it will release an Android 2.1 update for the HTC Droid Eris as well as the Sprint and GSM versions of the HTC Hero.
    The company said the devices should be getting most of the features of Android 2.1 as well as the enhanced HTC Sense user experience that was announced today. However, it will ultimately be up to the carriers to determine which features make it onto the device. Unfortunately, HTC did not give any time frame for when the update might be rolled out.
     
  13. condog

    condog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    5
    have u tried contacting verizon or htc? either this is a bad update or there might of been an error when you got the update. I had heard of a feb. 22 2.1 update so maybe its just now starting to roll out?
     
  14. jamezelle

    jamezelle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    15
    i think this is just a bad update, it has already been *confirmed* that we will get a 2.1 update with Sense UI
     
  15. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,691
    Likes Received:
    8,364
    I find it very strange that people are reporting 2.1 with out Sense.

    I wonder if maybe this was supposed to be the Moto update and the switch was flipped on the wrong phones.
     
  16. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,215
    Likes Received:
    638
    that would be epic
     
  17. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,691
    Likes Received:
    8,364
  18. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,223
    What is "epic" is a leaked, likely flawed, rogue update that is actually coming OTA to innocent users.
     
  19. Kevkelsar

    Kevkelsar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    27
    This was my initial thought. There would have been some kind of announcement if 2.1 was beginning to be shipped out to the Eris.
     
  20. betg1492

    betg1492 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    haha ether thats the real update or someone at VZW might have just lost there job but i would be money that they are rolling out only a few at a time or a bad update

    but factory reset didnt work umm weird try taking it to a store
     
  21. Pitamakan

    Pitamakan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    80
    It's possible that the update is large and complex enough that the plan is to send it via multiple updates ... maybe 2.1 in the first update, followed immediately by Sense in the next? Who knows ...
     
  22. MisterEff

    MisterEff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    9
    Take a picture of your homescreen and some other stuff. That version number can be faked very easily if the phone is rooted.
     
  23. dsmith1

    dsmith1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    so no one knows how to fix it? error, google partner setup application has stopped unexpectedly , please try again . force close
     
  24. condog

    condog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    5
    the eris hasn't been rooted yet.
     
  25. trav473

    trav473 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    134
    ok, if its rooted then tell us that, we Eris users don't have either 2.1 or root!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...