can android get viruses?

1. ajdepoti

ajdepoti New Member

i was at good ole verizon today with an issue with my fascinate. The tech saw lookout on my phone and said it was useless, you can't get a virus on an android device. I looked at him all perplexed saying really (not letting on i was a software engineer), how so. He didn't say, all he let on was that the only thing that could happen is your flash card showing up twice. He said Lookout sends spam sms messages to your contact list etc. Or should i say has been known to do so. i have had lookout on my droid x for 6 months and that never happened.

so two questions, is lookout bad and is there ANY truth to the claim android can't get a virus(again from my knowledge of programming i don't see how they are protected by nature)

Advertisement
    :
  2. Frisco

Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

We're seeing reports of a "Gemini" trojan circulating in Russia, and a few others in other places.

Any OS can become infected, Linux is seeing more coming and going from time to time (nothing like those that infect Windows machines on a world wide level, though).
  3. AngryHatter

AngryHatter Well-Known Member

How many linux exploits are you aware of?
    A virus could be made, no doubt.

But known cases of exploits are few and far between.

Yes, lookout is a waste. The only two features it possess that are worthwhile are remote lock & wipe...which Verizon can do if you report the phone gone.
    So why have it? It eats CPU cycles & battery looking for boogeymen.

If you are somewhat careful (especially where you download from) about what you load into the phone you should be relatively trouble free.
  4. Frisco

Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

No doubt.

As mentioned before, nothing like the damage done by Windows exploits, but they are around.

Copied from the wiki on Linux exploits:

Trojans

• Kaiten - Linux.Backdoor.Kaiten trojan horse[18]
    • Rexob - Linux.Backdoor.Rexob trojan[19]