Can cricket save me from Verizon rape?

1. androidFan11

androidFan11 New Member

I got my Droid X from wirefly with a new contract from Verizon. I went from a flip-flop phone and a $50/month contract to a smart phone and a $200+/month contract with Verizon's pay-a-month-ahead deal.

Now, i'm hearing that I can flash my phone to Cricket. They have a $55 plan which looks very attractive. My question is, would my final bill ACTUALLY be around $55/month? I already signed up for $80/m and got screwed. Also, would Cricket reps flash my Droid X to their service? I'm a soft engineer myself and pretty much a huge geek, but i'm not very confident doing this myself. Thanks for any help in advance!

Advertisement
  2. flash35

flash35 Member

I'm a Cricket Franchise owner. Cricket unlike other cell phone providers does not charge you all kinds of crazy fees. Cricket $55/m is actually $55/m plus tax so your monthly bill would always be under $60/m. Cricket Corp stores do not flash phones, you would have to find a Individual franchise owner who has the software to flash phones, which not many do. My store does flash phones, you can do a google search who flash phones in your area, search craigslist or ebay of people flashing phones to cricket, boost and metro. I have many happy customers who have flashed there Sprint and Verizon phones to Cricket
  3. davebolton

davebolton Member

If you don't mind my asking, how did you end up with a $200 bill from VZW when you thought it would be $80. Was there something deceptive about the contract. Or was it just the first month crap. The reason I ask is because I currently have service through VZW and pay like 235 for 5 phones. I am currently thinking about going back to cricket for an android phone.

Thanks
  4. davebolton

davebolton Member