Can Eris startup sequence be changed?General


Last Updated:

  1. oldbono

    oldbono Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm wondering if the Eris startup sequence can be changed to eliminate the "android" and HTC part of the startup. I'd prefer just seeing the Verizon part of the startup like I had on my "dumb" phones.
     

    Advertisement
  2. thetomlin2

    thetomlin2 Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    242
    Not until it is rooted
     
  3. oldbono

    oldbono Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, I'm a newbie. What does the term "rooted" mean? Thanks
     
  4. Ruben

    Ruben Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    349
  5. oldbono

    oldbono Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Ruben.
     
  6. Ataranine

    Ataranine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    7
    If it's rooted, you can delete the .gif file from the directory that the phone displays.. but it displays it while it's loading so I don't think you're gonna get a faster boot time or anything.
     
  7. oldbono

    oldbono Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Ataranine, sounds like it's not worth the effort then.
     
  8. Ataranine

    Ataranine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    7
    I'd probably still change it though, to something cooler. That's just me.
     

Share This Page

Loading...