Can I be in love with my Hero again?


Last Updated:

  1. pingcharlie

    pingcharlie Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    I was running my Hero (unrooted) on the first iteration of the 2.1 Sprint upgrade. I had not taken their first OTA update as I was planning to root my phone since the dialer lag was driving me CRAZY.

    I was really weighting my options with this phone as I heard that the dialer lag may not necessarily go away with rooting. Anyway, last week I bit the bullet and let the phone update OTA with the latest rev (dialer lag fix) and let me tell you, I feel as if I now have a brand new phone. I can't believe I can actually make phone calls with it and not have to wait 30-60 seconds for a call to go out. My phone just 'works'!

    By the way, I love the ability and freedom for me to root my phone and pick my own ROM, etc. I am not dinging rooting at all and I may one day root it. But as busy as I always am, and as much as I hated my 2.1 Hero all this time, I just wanted to say something positive in this forum about Sprint and HTC for putting this fix out there while other carriers have begun to end of life the Hero. This just breathed new life on my little friend and buys me more time before I get a new one as I am not particularly thrilled to buy a 4.3 inch behemoth. I have grown to appreciate the small size (easy on the pockets) of my phone and hope I can replace it with something of similar dimensions whenever its time to move on.
     

    Advertisement
  2. top magoo

    top magoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    2
    i was just about to post something similar. i was just going to wait for a few more days.

    i installed the ota update last saturday (9/25) and have been very impressed with the behavior so far. i hardly get phone calls, but everything else i've used has been way better than it was since the 2.1 install.

    so far, i no longer have to:
    -consider using my upgrade to an Evo
    -contemplate rooting
    -live with lag

    good job htc, in doing what seems to be the right thing.
     
  3. chuhsi

    chuhsi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    5
    root it with the cyanogen stable 2.2 rom. takes less than 30 min to do..the only annoying part would be reinstalling all your apps.

    there's no way i'd use a non-rooted hero.
     
  4. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    Never had much trouble with stock, but I do agree having a rooted phone is better:)
     
  5. nolacrazygrl

    nolacrazygrl Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    It may have fixed the lag time but I'm still having forced closing issues, text messages won't delete, low memory problems. I'm trying to root now and if that doesn't fix it, I will probably shy away from droid products for a long time. :-/
     
  6. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,274
    Likes Received:
    7,880
    I would re flashed 2.1 and then do the latest update, then slowly install your programs, you also may want to post the programs you have, there maybe one causing your issues, I had Youmail app that was locking up my phone and I would have to physically remove the battery to get the phone back up, now I simply listen to my voicemails from my email with Youmail and no more issues



     
  7. xevious

    xevious Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    11
    I was a little fearful of finding my newly acquired Hero to be a sluggish performer on 2.1, after all the chatter I'd read about it. I was prepared to root it and go with a custom ROM if need be. Mine came with 2.31.651.6 installed, and it seemed to be just fine. I let it upgrade to .7 OTA, and I didn't really notice anything different... maybe I just didn't have .6 long enough to see.

    Sometimes there is a little bit of a lag in the dialer, but it's not frequent. Overall, it appears to perform well. This is a really great device, my first real smartphone. I'd had the LG Lotus 1st gen for almost 2 years, which is a great little phone. Best tiny form factor w/QWERTY keypad ever. But seeing all of those glorious Android apps left me always wanting. Even though I could run Java apps on my Lotus, browse the Web, type out e-mails and text messages very quickly with it's superior little keypad, there were some flaws that still gnawed at me. The Elite addressed some, but then introduced more. I'd had the Hero in mind for about 9 months... glad I finally made the move. :)
     
  8. oOMavrikOo

    oOMavrikOo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    60
    what exactly is an OTA update and how do you get it? does it have something to do with the software info?
     
  9. xevious

    xevious Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    11
    OTA means "over the air". You just perform an update software request from the phone and it'll check for an update. If you're on 0.6 it should alert you to 0.7 and ask if you want to apply it.
     
  10. oOMavrikOo

    oOMavrikOo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    60
    I'm currently rooted. will udating affect that in any way?
     
  11. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    You've updated your phone already;)
     
  12. blampars

    blampars Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    22
    if you're rooted but still running the stock sprint rom, you can get your latest update fix (along with general improvements) from this rom here:
    NFX Sprint 2.31.651.7 STOCK Deoxed/Odex Updated:10/14/2010

    If you are running any of the other various non-sprint roms out there, you don't need to worry about the update.
     
  13. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460

    +++ This ROM rocks.....++++ ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    :D:D:D:D:D:D
     
  14. xevious

    xevious Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    11
    So do I have this right? If you want to root your phone, you must roll back to the OEM .5 ROM. From there, you root the phone. Then you can apply the latest ROM manually.

    But now, if there's another update later on, can OTA be used? If not, what a pain... every time you apply a new ROM, you lose all of your data and apps, and have to go through a complete reconfiguration? :(
     
  15. oOMavrikOo

    oOMavrikOo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    60
    you don't lose anything of you use titanium backup to save everything and restore it later. and remember to always do a nandroid backup, it is your best friend when rooting.
     
  16. xevious

    xevious Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    11
    But to do Titanium backup or Nandroid backup, you have to root the phone... which means, you've got to roll back to the ROM that still has the exploit (version .5). Right?

    I did notice on XDA-Developers that there's a modified Sprint 2.31.651.7 ROM that is rooted... but it looks like this can only be applied if the target phone is already rooted.
     
  17. Lozer_Kid

    Lozer_Kid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    21
    I installed all the updates on my unrooted phone, the dialer was still lagging. Someone actually recommended to install Quick System Pro, I think that's what is called, and the lagging goes away almost completely!
     
  18. xevious

    xevious Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    11
    How does Quick System Pro do that for you? I noticed it is an ad supported version... do you have to run it all the time in the background?
     
  19. Lozer_Kid

    Lozer_Kid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    21
    Not really, I mean, I use it as a taskiller. I don't use the shortcuts on the task bar or the widgets. Instead, I put normal icon program on the screen, I open the entire program, go to Process, then press and hold HTC Sense on the list until pop up menu appears and select end others. The reason why I don't use the shortcuts/widgets is because it will foreclose everything including HTC Sense and the waiting for it to get back up is really annoying. I tried to ignore it, but it didn't work, so I just do it like I explained before. For some, it might be annoying, but I actually don't mind.
     
  20. cyberweasel

    cyberweasel Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just rooted and flashed this ROM last night. I love it! All of the sudden the power bar widget works instead of lagging! Everything seems a lot more zippy. Me likey.
     

Share This Page

Loading...