Can I convert from UMTS 900 to UMTS 850?Support


Last Updated:

  1. milaez

    milaez Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    I have a regular i7500 which runs on UMTS 900/1700/2100, I was wandering if it is possible to convert the phone to be compatible with UMTS 850 as this is the frequency australias "Telstra NextG" works on?

    My phone details are as follows:

    Firmware version: Galaxo 1.6.3.3
    Baseband version: I7500XEJC4
    Kernal version: 2.6.29-bfs302-drakaz-galaxo-light drakaz@PC #44
    Build number: Donut.XEJC6

    cheers in advance
     

    Advertisement
  2. Kamala

    Kamala Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    7
    I think that I read somewhere that you can convert 850 to 900, but not sure in your case.
     
  3. milaez

    milaez Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0

    Hey Kamala, do you remember where you read this?
     
  4. Shorrack

    Shorrack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    17
  5. Willd

    Willd Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    It won't work with just flashing an australian baseband..

    It involves some really advanced tools and techniques that are not publicly available and probably not even tested..
     
  6. milaez

    milaez Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    can you please elaborate?
     
  7. milaez

    milaez Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I suppose what I'm really asking is:

    Does the frequency availability (UMTS 900 or UMTS 850) rely on soley the hardware? Or can this be changed through software such as changing the baseband to that of an i7500L (which uses UMTS 850)? or flashing the radio componant?
     
  8. Willd

    Willd Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    It MAY be reflashable using proprietary (but available) tools from Qualcomm, but I doubt you want to get into that..
     
  9. Cougar

    Cougar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    16
    My understanding was that it was a hardware restriction. I don't know for sure, but in ten years or so of having and playing with mobile phones I don't recall ever seeing one you could change the frequency bands.
     

Share This Page

Loading...