Can I deactivate data connection?


Last Updated:

  1. groversdad

    groversdad New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll be traveling in Europe soon and I don't want to run up any inadvertent data charges (I'm planning on using WiFi.)

    Is there any way to turn off the data connection? I still want to be able to make/receive phone calls.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    You won't be making any calls in Europe...the Droid is only compatible with Verizon's CDMA network.

    Put the phone in airplane mode, then turn on Wifi.
     
  3. dodger55fan

    dodger55fan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    20
    Actually wi-fi will still charge you roaming, call verizon and inquire about the global packages, or just simply don't use your phone those are about your only two options i believe.

    The global packages cost about twice your current rate (I believe they're around $60 or so), but you can pro-rate them, so if you're only in Europe for a week it won't charge you for that whole month but only the time you need it.
     
  4. Howie

    Howie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,412
    Likes Received:
    71
    how would wifi still charge roaming?
     
  5. riffdex

    riffdex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    32
    Hmm, I didn't know you could do that. Wouldn't it technically not be in airplane mode anymore if WiFi is enable?
     
  6. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    It doesn't.

    Yeah, technically it wouldn't be, I guess, though now many flights are equipped with Wifi, so maybe it still is?

    Regardless, that's the only way I know of turning off the mobile network.
     
  7. brettlewis

    brettlewis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    49
    You CAN stop your data package if you want. I know someone who did it. If you are ok with not making calls then It makes sense i guess. Although, I think if there is wifi skype will work for you?
     
  8. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    Skype is 3G only. They must've had this situation in mind when they released it :(

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  9. brettlewis

    brettlewis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    49
    hm. that sucks. I agree, they must of known people would try that. I wonder if there will be some hacked form of skype that will work on wifi.
     
  10. kyleonfire

    kyleonfire Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    2
    It shouldn't charge you for wifi. My friend put his iphone into airplane mode the whole 2 weeks we were in europe and would turn on the wifi. phone still remained in airplane mode so it should be the same for droid
     
  11. riffdex

    riffdex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    32
    thanks for the tip. i didnt know you could turn wifi back on while in airplane mode. this can come in handy because, sometimes i like to disable my phone from calls/texts, but still want access to my internet connection :D



    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  12. dodger55fan

    dodger55fan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    20
    Alright good to know wifi doesn't charge roaming in Europe, I believe it does though in Mexico, at least that's what my rep said
     
  13. Hangdog42

    Hangdog42 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    25

    You need to find a new rep, because that one is SERIOUSLY misinformed. Wifi has absolutely nothing to do with the Verizon network, so there is no way they could charge you. Ever. Doesn't matter where you are, Verizon can't charge you for wifi.
     
  14. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    515
    There's an app called Extended Controls in the Market, which says it allows you to toggle data connection on and off and toggle between 2G/3G, as well as a number of other options. It looks a little like the stock Power Control widget, but with different toggle options (you're supposed to pick up to 5 to display). You could try it out and see if it works if you're still interested in toggling the data connection off.
     
  15. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    I have used wifi in mexico and I received no charges for it. Call your rep and tell him he sucks
     
  16. clos1084

    clos1084 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    8
    There is absolutely no Charges for wifi, you are not using Verizon's network
     
  17. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    yea I know thats what I was saying
     
  18. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
  19. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    564
    yea not only does vzw charge you for using wifi but the gps will cost extra overseas too. yea.......yea ok.



    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  20. QrafTee

    QrafTee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    69
    They cannot charge you roaming on wifi because that's a feature of the device which utilizes nothing of Verizon's. That's why you can deactivate your phone from Verizon and just use the Droid with it's wifi capabilities... like with many phones with wifi capabilities.
     
  21. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    bingo.. no way they could get you for wifi.. just like no way you could get charged if you roamed around with a laptop and jumped on wifi signals
     
  22. brnr17

    brnr17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    17
    i checked it out ... it only has 1 comment so far ..hmmm
     

Share This Page

Loading...