Can I get the Weather app to use GPS instead of network location?Support


Last Updated:

  1. wonderbread

    wonderbread Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    297
    It keeps telling me I'm in the town across the river. Maybe according to the network location I am in that town but when I go to maps and it uses GPS it realizes the proper city. The weather app often makes this mistake. I thought when I setup my device it may have asked if I want to use GPS or just network location for something but I can't find that setting anymore. Any ideas on how to get more accurate current location for the weather widget? Thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. soulfetcher13

    soulfetcher13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    32
    Menu, settings, location, use gps satellites
     
  3. howarmat

    howarmat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,580
    Likes Received:
    229
    i have to ask, how far away is the reading that its using? cell towers dont broadcast all that far, so the weather would still be pretty accurate seeing that it is only updating every hour as it is
     
  4. nightfishing

    nightfishing Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    111
    If you'd have ever lived on the "right" side of a town, you wouldn't want your phone thinking that you lived on the wrong side, either!
     
  5. wonderbread

    wonderbread Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    297
    So, I already had "Use GPS" checked but while in that menu I unchecked "Use Wireless Networks" and the weather app so far is now always identifying the correct location, on the correct side of the river :)
     
  6. howarmat

    howarmat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,580
    Likes Received:
    229
    that will probably use more battery if that matters to you, if not then dont worry
     

Share This Page

Loading...