can i install non system apps as a system app?


Last Updated:

  1. ballisticn8

    ballisticn8 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    158
    okay, i've searched and i've searched but i cant find out how or if i can push apps to the system folder so they load natively...

    i can use terminal or adb, any help would be appreciated.

    :D
     

    Advertisement
  2. themans23

    themans23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    3
    HAHA nobody likes you Nate!!!!!!!!!!!





    LOL JK free bump
     
  3. ballisticn8

    ballisticn8 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    158
    damn, now i have to put up with this guy over here too... :p

    found out a work around without using terminal or adb.

    took the apk file's i wanted ran as system apps and using root explorer copied them into /system/app

    i long pressed on the first apk file that popped up and checked its permissions, user should be read and write only, group and others should only be read.

    changed the permissions for every apk i was transferring over and then re-booted, voila, it worked.

    cant remember exactly where i found it posted though. got myself swype, themed launcher pro, as well as a themed ringer toggle widget and a themed moto torch widget installed as system apps. copied flash over as well. hopefully this fixes some of the lag on homescreen re-draws as well as the lag using swype and some of the widgets. :)

    oh yeah, and eff zhou tom! ractly-o :D
     
  4. themans23

    themans23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    3
    LOL Yup, you have to put up with me and and on DR... but you are the one who told me about this site so Eff you!

    Let me know if you can tell a difference in lag, i might have to try that out.
     
  5. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    you know... look at this.. it "might" help. skip down to Install Method 2. I know it is for a specific app, but if you have the terminal skills & understanding, it might tip you off to a way to reverse engineer it and do it for the app YOU want to do it for.
     
  6. bp328i

    bp328i Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    39
    I saw your post today at work and was going to reply tonight when I got home about root explorer but I see you have already found it. I use root explorer almost every day.
     
  7. bp328i

    bp328i Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    39

    Pretty funny you linked the Mobile Defense website, as that's one of the app's I move using root explorer to the system everytime I load a new ROM.

    If you look at the date of that post it's from 1/19/10, using root explorer is so much quicker now.
     
  8. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    how is Root Explorer compared to something like Astro? I am so use to Astro, I know Root Explorer can do more since it is for Root users, but I assume it can do all file management like Astro?
     
  9. bp328i

    bp328i Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    39

    Yes, you are correct and it's well worth it's price of admission. I have not used Astro since finding Root Explorer.

    I switch different versions of apps out all the time. I have a version of Google Voice that I like the icon so much better than stock and switch it out on every new ROM I load.
     
  10. ballisticn8

    ballisticn8 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    158
    ^^^ this, lmao, i ripped themed apk files for mototorch and for ring toggle widget from Fab's nextheme rom for 2.1 and have been using them ever since. it just so happens that the version of mototorch that works for Froyo is the version that Fab themed :)

    I also didnt like the redraw from LauncherPro so I dropped that, swype, and the two mentioned above and Flash in the system/app folder.

    Figured if I got a rom I liked I could cut and paste different apps into the system to make it do what I wanted.

    :D
     
  11. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    OK, so the conventional wisdom to install an app in /system is to just install it and then move it to /system/app using my choice of file manager (I have root explorer)?

    Is there no other way to actually install the app in /system/app, say using adb? The instructions in the page that LNL linked seem to tkae the fully named app (com.{company name}.{app name}.apk) and install it - but will it matter if it is not named in that manner?

    Or, should I just copy it over and be done with it?
     
  12. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    515
    I have found that the name doesn't matter. I move apps from /data/app to /system/app with Root Explorer all the time. Some I rename and some I don't. For instance, I use Metamorph to theme Swype, and to do that, I always rename it to swype.apk. After a reboot, the system recognizes it regardless of name.
     
  13. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    I thought there was a way to install directly to /system/app as opposed to the default /data/app - I'm concerned about the presence of the associated folders in /data/data for each app that is in /data/app.

    However, upon closer inspection, even system apps have folders in /data/data so I suppose the point is moot.
     
  14. TheEKey

    TheEKey New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys, I actually wanna do the reverse. Say, torch.apk is a system app and I would like to move it to the SD card instead of loading up with the whole system all the time (I use this torch but not very often). Is there a way to do that?
     
  15. teddyearp

    teddyearp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    831
    The only way to be able to run Torch.apk from your sdcard is if your rom and the app itself will support it. I personally don't think it's a good idea to run apps from sdcard as the additional read/write access to the sdcard will just wear it out faster.

    But to check, go thusly on your phone:

    menu -> settings -> applications -> manage application

    Then select the "all" tab at the top and then search out your torch app. If the "move to sdcard" button is not grayed out, then go ahead and select it. Even still, this does not guarantee that it will work properly.

    good luck
     

Share This Page

Loading...