Can I lock my screen manually?Support


Last Updated:

  1. stephenshaw74

    stephenshaw74 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    *Newbie alert* so apologees if this has been sorted elsewhere - I've searched but can only find reference to scrapping the screen lock altogether.

    My gripe is that I would love to be able to lock my screen rather than waiting for it to happen automatically. It's a pain sticking the G1 in my pocket before the screen lock kicks in only to find out that I've opened apps accidently or started to call someone by mistake.
    Can this be done?
    Thank you
     

    Advertisement
  2. jabtas

    jabtas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    20
    Just press the end call/power buton (the one on the bottom right) and it will lock the screen instantly
     
  3. stephenshaw74

    stephenshaw74 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm embarrassed :eek:
    Thanks for that. I'll be sure to check obvious solutions before posting again!!!
     
  4. jabtas

    jabtas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    20
    No need to be embarrased, often the simple things get overlooked

    I'm sure all the members on here have asked a question of some description in the past, and unless you ask, YOU WILL NEVER KNOW !!!!!!
    :D:D
     
  5. johnkzin

    johnkzin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    3
    Just one word of warning...

    don't try to 're-lock your screen' in the middle of a phone call.

    (there are times where I'll want to look something up on the web in the middle of a call, or answer an SMS ... and whenever I finish doing those types of things, in a call or not, my habit is to lock the screen ... if I'm not really paying attention, then, well, I end up hanging up on the person I'm talking to)
     
  6. HTC

    HTC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    7
    i normally lock the phone accidentally anyways. does anyone else do this?
    like on other phones.. i normally use the red "end" button to go back to homescreen. but on the G1 its to lock the phone. boo.
     
  7. PsychoBadBoy

    PsychoBadBoy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Haha! Great advice.

    Until I got used to the fact that the red button locked the phone, I was always trying to use it to get back to the home screen (I never pressed the Home button on my other phone for some reason).
     
  8. Manacit

    Manacit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    The end call button on my treo did the same thing, so I'm used to hitting the home button :p
     
  9. pillow43

    pillow43 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wonder if there anyway just to turn G1 on without pressing "menu". thx
     
  10. Cryptic79

    Cryptic79 VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    24
    In settings, you can set the screen timeout to never.

    Of course, that will probably drain the battery much faster.

    As another option, you can go to Settings > Applications > Development > Stay Awake to leave the screen unlocked when on a charger (including USB connection to a computer).

    I sit in front of a computer 8 hours each day, so I just have it plugged in when I'm in the office. No battery drain!
     
  11. johnkzin

    johnkzin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    3
    Same here.

    I have it set to not dim while plugged in, and I have micro-USB cables on my desktop at home, desktop at work, and on my nightstand (plugged into a wall wart for charging USB chargeable devices).

    I also realized that since I don't really have an "Inbox" on Gmail (everything gets archived via filters), and what I mainly use for reading mail is a remembered search for "is:unread" ... I don't need to auto-sync my gmail either. So I turned off auto-sync. We'll see how that helps my battery life.
     
  12. hutton

    hutton New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    can any one help i used to press the hang up button to lock my screen as said u can do in this but it has stop working has any one got any ideas how i can fix it as i really need the lock screen ???????????????? thanks
     

Share This Page

Loading...