Can I remove KitKat?

1. ItsLL

ItsLL Member

I bought a second hand red s3. I believe this is what you people call rooted or something along these lines. I have things on my phone that I do not want.

Its unlocked which is a must because it was originally with another carrier. I want to keep this.

Other things I have; something called superuser, c-rom, kitkat 4.4.4 and maybe something else I'm sure. I'm not very good at this.

In short, I had an s3, it was great and I think it used jellybean maybe? I want this back because I liked this way better. More user friendly.

Is it possible to change from what I have to what I had and remain unlocked? also, if there is at least a 1% chance of bricking my phone or relocking it, I don't want to do it.

Layman's terms will be much appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Advertisement
    :
  2. Brian706

Brian706 Moderator Moderator

Hey there, I moved your post into the S3 root section. The folks here should be able to get you squared away!! :)
  3. ItsLL

ItsLL Member

Something just occurred to me. Is it possible that this is something like a beta version and that's why it sucks? Or do you guys suspect that it is what it is? Because I really don't like it.
  4. deltaforce

deltaforce Well-Known Member

Can you not factory reset it, but then you will get latest OS, may be kitkat.

The apps that you mention come with root. If I were you, I would leave root as it (i.e. will keep phone rooted). There are more advantages of having it rooted than unrooted.
  5. ItsLL

ItsLL Member

I did a factory reset and kitkat stayed. I don't find kitkat user friendly.

Thanks for your help brother
  6. Pulse8

Pulse8 Well-Known Member Contributor

Ok, if you have superuser,you're rooted, which is no big deal. In fact, it's a must if you want to flash a different rom, which sounds as if you do.So, the hard bit is already done for you!