Can I root overseas? (no service)


Last Updated:

  1. white0ut442

    white0ut442 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm in Japan right now, and keep my droid in airplane mode. I'm relying on wifi for everything. Do I need service to root my phone? I'm kind of worried about reactivation and stuff

    apologize in advance for my ignorance :confused:
     

    Advertisement
  2. PerCompLLC

    PerCompLLC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    128
    No, you do not need service to root.
     
  3. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
  4. PerCompLLC

    PerCompLLC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    128
    You misunderstand... I was saying, no, you don't need to have service in order to root. In other words, you can indeed root while in airplane mode.

    I guess the double negative was confusing... :D
     
  5. white0ut442

    white0ut442 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    thanks guys!
    Last question - I can use astro to back up my apps to sd card, right? I would prefer that to the shoddy wifi here
     
  6. nstallion

    nstallion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    136
    Yeah it will store all the .apk files on the SD card so you can reinstall them without having to redownload them. Unfortunately until you root you can't back up the data though so you'll lose saved games, application settings, etc.
     
  7. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    you can root without losing app data. Its explained in the last post in the guide to all things rooted sticky. I would suggest backing up with titanium instead of astro because it keeps your apps tied to the market so you can easily get updates. You will need root to use titanium though.
     
  8. trav473

    trav473 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    134
    He has a point on that one, I would suggest you follow this guide , http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-droid/63010-how-install-sprecovery-unrooted-2-1-ota.html
    you can root your phone and not change any thing else about your current setup, install TiBU, save your apps, then go for the custom ROMs.

    **edit** OMJ beat me to it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...