can i root to gain full access without flashing to a rom and remain stock?

Last Updated:

1. tailsthecat

tailsthecat Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

Im wondering if i can root my device to gain full access but remain stock? Im wondering if i root the device can i gain full access, delete unnecessary sprint apps that i dont use but keep the default rom and not have to flash? Is it the rooting that gives full access or the flash to a custom rom? Thank you for yoir patience. Im new to android...

Advertisement
  2. 330D

330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

Yup, you can. go here and READ READ READ

http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-sprint-hero/38911-guide-root-rom-faq-tutorial.html

godallmighty likes this.
  3. mysticmead

mysticmead Well-Known Member

godallmighty likes this.
  4. tailsthecat

thank you for the encouraging replies. after i upgrade to sprints android release 2.x, i will have to re-root and re-delete the useless apps?

5. ccapasso

ccapasso Well-Known Member

I would hold off on upgrading to Sprint's 2.1 release as there is a good chance it will patch the root fix. If you wait, you are better off, and in addition, several 2.1 ROM's are already practically 100%. So when Sprint's Official 2.1 is released, the ROM's will be even more 100%.

6. NYCHitman1

NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire Developer

Sorry, I just had to LOL b/c it sounded really redundant.

7. tailsthecat

well i tried rooting and got as far as flash_image recovery recovery-RA-heroc-v.1.5.2.img
    it said it couldnt find the image so i typed exit multiple times and aborted mission. all i am interested in is deleting useless apps like nascar, peeps, nfl, etc. any insight is appreciated. thank you for your patience as im new to android

8. NYCHitman1

NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire Developer

I answered you the Rooting FAQ Guide thread. Please try to stick to one thread. It's easier to assist you that way.

9. mslisaj

mslisaj Well-Known Member