Can I stop calling the wrong number?


Last Updated:

  1. NCCase

    NCCase Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    So ya, there's a phone in my HTC Hero. No surprise.

    My problem is this:
    I find that the easiest way to call a person is to go to the phone app and scroll through the call history displayed to find the person I wish to call. Once I see their name, I just press on it, and the call begins. Unfortunately, a friend I call often may use their house phone or cell phone when I only ever want to call their cell (Evo ;)). Often, the situation is that I previously talked to him on his house phone, and I'm calling him in the middle of the night (we're young; we don't sleep rational hours during the summer... or ever). Unfortunately for me, my call usually bugs his parents, and I get reprimanded... :(

    Is there a setting that allows me to only call his cell, or do I just need to break this habit?

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. robo555

    robo555 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    The call history shows the phone number below the name. Check it's the right number before calling! If it's the wrong number long press on the name to bring up the contact details, then select the correct number.
     
  3. NCCase

    NCCase Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    In other words, break the habit. =b
     
  4. copestag

    copestag Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,355
    Likes Received:
    247
    or setup 2 contacts........ Chris Home....... Chris Cell
     
  5. UncleMike

    UncleMike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,319
    Likes Received:
    482
    It may sound strange, but Tasker can take care of this for you. It has the ability to divert outgoing calls to other numbers. All you would have to do is tell it to divert calls to your friend's home number should instead be sent you his cell phone.

    You can download a 7-day trial at:

    Tasker for Android

    Or install it from the Market and get the included remove&refund option.

    I sometimes have a similar problem, where I get calls from an office where the outgoing lines are not the numbers I want to call back, but I have them listed as numbers for my contact so I can recognize who's calling me. When beta testing an app for an iDEN handset a few years ago I had the developer add the ability to specify a default number that would be dialed when placing a call using an entry in the call log. To me it seemed like a problem a lot of people would run into on a regular basis, and I don't know why it's never been built in anywhere.
     
    NCCase likes this.
  6. NCCase

    NCCase Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Woah, is this Chris, or did you manage to pull the correct name out of a hat? lol

    I've heard a lot about Tasker. I'll definitely look into it.
     
  7. JafoFubar

    JafoFubar Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Put a short cut or two on your desktop. Long press on a blank spot on your desktop, select Shortcuts, then select Direct Dial and then choose the contact number you want. It will put a short cut on your desktop that you can just tap on and it will dial that number.
     
  8. UncleMike

    UncleMike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,319
    Likes Received:
    482
    Probably a better solution than using Tasker, if the OP can change his habits.
     
  9. NCCase

    NCCase Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Bought Tasker, and it has worked for this problem and provided more awesomeness.
     
  10. UncleMike

    UncleMike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,319
    Likes Received:
    482
    I'm glad to see it's been able to solve your problem.
     

Share This Page

Loading...