Can i upgrade my milestone to froyo???

Last Updated:

1. gchaltikyan

gchaltikyan New Member This Topic's Starter

Hello,
    I am a new user of Moto Milestone with Android 2.1. I have bought it in the U.S., though as I learned couple of days ago through a phone call to Motorola Tech Support, the phone has actually been produced to be used in Hong Kong:confused: [it was a surprise, to begin with, that true INTERNATIONAL GSM phones, not bound by any carrier contract, can be made or meant to be used in a specific country!] Anyway, I needed a phone to use in Armenia (where I am currently located and using my droid), on VivaCell-MTS network.
    Since I am an absolute novice not only to Milestone, but to Android, and to smartphones at all, I quite naturally have had plenty of questions. Fortunately, with some common sense, considerable background as PC user, and a little help from the net, I have so far been able to figure out most of the features.
    Now to the issue that concerns me most at the moment. I am trying to figure out if I can upgrade my device to froyo on my own - since my carrier does not seem to provide an OTC upgrade at the moment. I tried the force upgrade mechanism, brilliantly described on this forum (thanks to all moderators and participants b.t.w.), but it did not work so far (tried downloads from a couple of locations). It gives the notorious "certificate" message, and aborts the upgrade. If anyone is ready to help me with this, and a couple of other questions, I'd be most appreciative of your help!
    Thanks in advance, and best regards to all droid army:)
    George

Advertisement
  2. Martimus

Martimus One bite at a time... Moderator

Welcome to the Android Forums!

There is supposed to be a version of Froyo (Android 2.2) released for the Motorola Milestone. That said it's typically carrier based so it's official release may be dependent on the carrier that you're currently using.