Can not send pics from phone.General


Last Updated:

  1. jswiss

    jswiss New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Whenever I try to send a pic via text message, it automatically turns it into a slide show. Then I recieve error messages "Unable to send, generic issue". All I want to do is send a picture via text...please help.
    Thank you
     

    Advertisement
  2. jswiss

    jswiss New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I do not want to send a slide show.
     
  3. mrw5641

    mrw5641 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    5
    i have the same problem, i wish i knew what was going on
     
  4. k9cop

    k9cop Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    4
    My wife also has this problem on her Eris. I've researched a lot.

    For some people doing the *228 option 2 works for some option 1 works.

    For some people it was a hardware malfunction from the first Eris that came out.

    Some people said their APN settings got messed up when they upgraded to 2.1.

    Here are her APN settings. Can someone tell me if they are correct?

    <?xml version='1.0' encoding='UTF-8' standalone='yes' ?>
    <apns count="4">
    <apn name="CDMA" numeric="311280" mcc="311" mnc="280" apn="0" user="null" server="null" password="null" proxy="null" port="" mmsproxy="" mmsport="" mmsprotocol="" mmsc="" type="*" />
    <apn name="Production" numeric="311280" mcc="311" mnc="280" apn="1" user="null" server="null" password="null" proxy="null" port="" mmsproxy="" mmsport="" mmsprotocol="2.0" mmsc="http://mms.vtext.com/servlets/mms" type="mms" />
    <apn name="Android" numeric="311280" mcc="311" mnc="280" apn="internet" user="*" server="*" password="*" proxy="null" port="null" mmsproxy="null" mmsport="null" mmsprotocol="null" mmsc="null" type="null" />
    <apn name="TelKila" numeric="311280" mcc="311" mnc="280" apn="internet" user="*" server="*" password="*" proxy="null" port="null" mmsproxy="null" mmsport="null" mmsprotocol="null" mmsc="null" type="null" />
    </apns>
     
  5. Joe_Evaristo

    Joe_Evaristo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    2
    The slideshow problem is an HTC bug--submit a ticket and complain to them. Currently, they refuse to acknowledge that it's a bug, so more users need to tie up their support resources if there's any chance it'll be fixed.

    The slideshow thing is a nuisance to begin with. But it's worse if you exchange pictures with friends who have phones that can't receive slideshows.
     
  6. Demache

    Demache Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    341
    I never had problems with other people receiving my pictures when I use the stock app, even on my friend's dumbphone that can't play videos. It always appears as a regular picture to them. So I guess that it sends as a regular picture message, but the HTC app interprets as a slideshow for some stupid reason. Either that or the Verizon servers change it to a regular picture so it works with his phone. And since its obviously its an HTC thing, I'm sure the Incredible does it as well.
     
  7. Joe_Evaristo

    Joe_Evaristo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    2
    Unfortunately, I do have a friend who, as of this change, is unable to receive messages from me anymore. We exchanged pictures daily before...then they switched to slideshows...and he suddenly can't get MMS from me. Despite nothing on his phone changing.
     
  8. Demache

    Demache Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    341
    Wait, when did the HTC app change? I thought it always did that.

    Regardless, whenever I sent pictures from the HTC app, they always come out as a standard picture to the other person. I don't add any text to the picture message though. I send them separately.
     
  9. rick311

    rick311 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    44
    this is why i have to use a 3rd party app.
     
  10. sdlucky7

    sdlucky7 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    I sent an e-mail to HTC about the Eris MMS changes, and this was their response:

    "I understand that, after the last OTA update for the Droid Eris, the Messages application has been putting the pictures in a slideshow. The device has done this since the original 2.1 update, but now it is functioning differently. There is no way to change this on the device. However, you can download a third party messaging application such as Handcent SMS to be able to send out pictures without putting them into a slideshow. Please be aware, HTC does not support any third party applications. Any support needed for these applications would need to be obtained from the developer of that application."

    So it looks like HTC is aware that the Messages app is performing differently, but they are suggesting a 3rd party application as a solution.
     
  11. Joe_Evaristo

    Joe_Evaristo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    2
    Same sleight of hand as they tried to pull on me. Notice the initial claim, that the Eris treated MMS as slideshows since the initial update to 2.1. That's definitely false--whether the rep just doesn't know what they're talking about, or they've decided that's the lie they're going to stick with, I can't tell. I myself got 3 completely different stories from 3 different reps as to where they think the problem originated.

    And their "support answer" is, "we don't feel like fixing it, so go download something else and leave us alone." Yeah, some solution. Support that bad is truly offensive.
     
  12. Demache

    Demache Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    341
    Your really getting worked up over this, aren't you? To be honest, its not a huge deal, nor worth wasting their time (yes I said that) to fix on a discontinued phone and release an official OTA for (which is incredibly time consuming for both HTC and Verizon).

    Everything they said is entirely correct though.

    "The device has done this since the original 2.1 update, but now it is functioning differently."

    Notice the bolded text. It did actually do this before, if you added text to the message (at least mine did, and I never received the latest OTA because I was rooted). Now they realize its "functioning differently" because it now does it regardless of there being text present.

    Your complaining about how they DARE suggest using a 3rd party app is the solution and think its a cheap cop out. You asked for a solution and that IS the only solution for the current version. Unfortunately for you, if you don't like it, tough beans. Because that may have been the last update for the Eris. Even if HTC wanted to update it, they probably couldn't because its still Verizon's call on whether or not they send out the update. :rolleyes:
     
  13. Joe_Evaristo

    Joe_Evaristo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    2

    Yes, I am getting worked up over it--they broke MMS functionality, and refuse to fix it. They're obligated to: they broke it.

    "The device has done this since the original 2.1 update, but now it is functioning differently."

    Note the bold. They're saying it's the same as it was. It can't both be working the same way, and working a different way. It's a poor attempt at an excuse.

    Activating slideshow functionality required either selecting a slideshow, or turning a picture into a slideshow by adding text. Until the update, a picture was a picture.

    And, yes, how dare they suggest a 3rd party app over fixing theirs: it might be a workaround for some, but it's certainly not a solution. Whether I use a 3rd party app or not, the phone's app is broken, it hasn't been fixed, the problem hasn't been solved. They broke it, they have to fix it, that's common sense.

    I'd also add that if it were true that, "nor worth wasting their time (yes I said that) to fix on a discontinued phone and release an official OTA," then they never would have released the OTA--after it was discontinued--to break MMS. If it was good enough to break after being discontinued, it's good enough to fix.
     
  14. Demache

    Demache Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    341
    Unintentionally broke, by trying to fix much more critical problems with the phone. I have no idea how they could have broke MMS, but as many dev's here know for themselves, its REALLY easy to break something, once you fix another problem. MMS is actually one of the more finicky things in these ROMs.

    Its not the best solution I'll admit, but its the best we can do. Even if they do release an update for the Eris, we'll have to wait AT LEAST another month, if that. We can try to be optimistic. So until then, 3rd party is your only choice, short of living with it.

    I'll feel HTC isn't doing their job once they release an update and don't fix MMS.
     
  15. Joe_Evaristo

    Joe_Evaristo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    2
    Whatever happened to beta testing? It's one thing to accidentally break something that users don't stumble upon very easily, but MMS? There's really no reason they shouldn't have noticed and fixed it before releasing the OTA.

    It's also debatable that they did fix the more critical problems--some of those are still being reported after MR4, such as the silent call bug, and other users are reporting no improvements, just the addition of this problem. Like I said myself, this update has only caused me problems, whereas the phone was tolerable to me beforehand.

    They're unable to fix the problems they claimed they fixed, and completely missed a problem that should have been obvious in testing the fix--at best, this means their devs are inept. Add in a support team that either hasn't been trained, or has been told to lie (like I said, I got 3 different stories from 3 different reps as to why this problem is occurring), and it certainly doesn't paint a favorable picture--their BBB rating bears that out.

    I wouldn't mind waiting a month...if they actually gave some indication that they're trying to fix it instead of trying to blame Google or saying there's nothing to fix. They're trying to get out of fixing it, and it's really dishonest--I could respect them if they owned up to their error instead of stonewalling those of us who have been trying to get service.
     
  16. fragologist

    fragologist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    2
    I had the same problem. For some reason my phone would not send a text with a pic unless the 3G was on.
     
  17. Demache

    Demache Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    341
    Well, I think that's an unrelated problem. You must have mobile network data enabled (3G basically) in order to send picture messages. Picture messages are a data service so they obviously won't work with data off.
     
  18. Demache

    Demache Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    341
    I'm assuming why they can't tell us if there will be an update or not, is because their development teams do not work with the Customer Service reps. Customer Service cannot guarantee we are getting an update if they have no clue. They barely have a clue what they are talking about as it is. We didn't find out about MR4 until days before its release (I have no clue why they keep updates secret like that). Just cross your fingers for an update. In the meantime, like they said, the only solution is a 3rd party app.

    I'll just keep using Handcent on KaosFroyo. Can't really affect me if I'm rooted. :D
     
  19. Joe_Evaristo

    Joe_Evaristo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    2
    lol...Them having no clue is what's frustrating me so much. It shouldn't be that hard to have them on the same page--I mean, really, even if they're not trained, they're reading from a script. (Or, three different scripts in this case I suppose.) I don't even care if there's an ETA, just a, "We're aware, and we're working on it" would be helpful.

    Aside from corporate ignorance, I think it's a sign of a bad business in general. I think a good parallel is this time, when I was in college, that my friends and I went to a small Italian restaurant we were fond of. This particular time, we'd gotten the worst server we'd ever had anywhere--if he wasn't screwing up the order, he was dropping silverware, or coming back a few times because he kept forgetting something, and he didn't seem particularly friendly, among other goofs. It was a very bad experience, and we'd decided we weren't going to tip him.

    ...then, to our surprise, he owned up to his mistakes. When he gave us the bill he said, "I know I really sucked tonight, I'm really sorry about it. The drinks and gelato are on the house." He didn't need to take anything off the bill--once he apologized, it was fine; he owned up, and we appreciated that. So we tipped him more than we would have if he hadn't screwed everything up.

    It's hard to respect a business that can't say, "oops, sorry, we goofed," and opts for, "Huh? Mistake? Noooo! And...uh...if it is, it's not our fault. Really."

    As for Handcent...I want to like it, I keep hearing about how smoothly it works, but I can't get it to display in a way that I can read. I prefer the Android style (the bubble thing is just plain annoying), but I don't like sent and received to be different colors--unfortunately, that lack of border just compounds the tiny spacing, and the texts all run into each other. If they ever add the ability to adjust the cell padding, and allow dividers between messages, I'm on board.

    I keep hearing that rooting is the way to go, but I'm afraid of bricking my phone. I chose this phone at least partly because I can't justify spending money on a more expensive phone--if it gets bricked, then I'm even more out of luck.
     
  20. Demache

    Demache Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    341
    I'd say go for it. Its really hard to brick a phone nowadays, especially with root methods so well documented. The worst that can really happen is that the OS gets caught in a boot loop and you need to reflash it from the recovery partition (its happened to me a couple times). Just make sure your battery is charged so it won't die while its flashing a bootloader (the most important thing not to screw up).

    You could then flash something like xtrSense, and your phone should become faster as well. Just sort of explore around a bit.

    It seems that's the way businesses are treating problems their products have nowadays. You probably know about the whole Apple fiasco with the iPhone 4 antenna. Well, that's the business world I suppose. Admitting fault is something that's hard for these companies to do for some reason.
     
  21. Joe_Evaristo

    Joe_Evaristo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hard, but possible, isn't it? I've been casually reading about it at XDA and a few other spots, and I've seen big bold warnings about the possibility--I can't afford to replace the phone if it does brick.

    Speaking of speed, I noticed something funny. I think I mentioned that Verizon replaced the phone once when the vibrate died. The weird thing is that I noticed the phone became incredibly responsive--not just a little faster. The keypad was actually able to keep up with my typing, whereas normally it lags behind a little. And often I have to go back and get rid of a second letter that has incorrectly capitalized itself because I hit the button before it registered caps off--I use T9 since I like the bigger buttons. Portrait to landscape flew by, apps loaded faster, etc. I've tried turning off haptic feedback, and it hasn't had nearly the level of responsiveness I had when vibrate died. I believe I saw a few other posts saying the same thing as well--it was quite odd.

    Yeah, I've been following the Apple thing, too. I think the funniest part is that they took their "not our fault" thing far enough to call out other manufacturers...and got so much flak for it that they backed away fast. You'd think this would be an easy lesson for businesses to learn: customers don't like being jerked around, just be honest with us and we'll still respect what you're doing.

    Great customer service is always memorable, and most people will spread the word when they have a good result from the start. I actually have another restaurant story: Bahama Breeze. That chain is awesome--years ago, I ate my steak well-done, but most restaurants think that means burned it until it's tough. For some reason, cooks don't realize that well-done can be juicy and tender, just cooked through completely...and that's the big reason I order medium now, since most of the time it ends up being what should truly be called well-done...lol.

    Anyway...I had a steak there that was amazing. They made it correctly when I asked for it well, and the flavors were second to none. I came back a couple days later, and they made it right again. With how hard it is for restaurants to do well-done, I was impressed, and doubly so by the flavors. The following year they removed that steak from the menu. I was disappointed, but I chose another steak. That one ended up being quite delicious as well, and again, they cooked it just right. The following year that was off the menu too, and they changed the cut of their yucca fries; they went from looking like thick french fries, to looking like breakfast potatoes. It completely changed the texture.

    So I e-mailed them to express my disappointment. I remember getting an e-mail back with no capitalization and poor spelling, asking for my phone number...lol. So I gave it to them, and they called me--their rep informed me that if I really wanted that steak, I could call any of their locations a couple hours ahead and they'd prepare it for me...with the caveat that it wouldn't be marinated the same, it would just have the same sauce. He explained that they removed it because it was the most returned item on their menu. And as I thanked him and was about to hang up, he adds, "and how's two $25 gift certificates for the inconvenience?" O_O

    Needless to say, when I talk about best restaurants, theirs is the first to come to mind.
     
  22. Joe_Evaristo

    Joe_Evaristo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just got confirmation by phone, from Danty in the Escalations Department (they responded to my Better Business Bureau complaint) that there will not be any additional updates for the Eris at all.

    ...posting here after I've submitted my FCC complaint.
     
  23. Blue218

    Blue218 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    81
    It seems that HTC is not in any rush to put out any other Verizon phones......the scorpion was supposed to be released very soon.....not even any rumors about it any more....Verizon seems to be in bed with Motorola.......so I wouldn't hold my breath about HTC fixin jack.
     
  24. Demache

    Demache Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    341
    Well that sort of sucks. Looks like your only real option is rooting your phone now. Find a ROM without Sense and you have a ROM with no HTC BS.
     
  25. Joe_Evaristo

    Joe_Evaristo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm going to see this out with my FCC complaint first--I question the legality of breaking a feature and refusing to fix it. As I commented before, if it's ok to do it with a simple feature, what's to stop a manufacturer from slimming down the majority of a phone's features at EOL to force the user to buy a new phone?

    I also think it's questionably legal that you can buy a phone with a specific set of features, and once they have your money, the company can decide to render some of those features inoperable at a later time--I certainly didn't intend to buy a phone that's not capable of picture messaging, as that's a feature I use often.

    If that goes nowhere, and complaints with Verizon afterwords go nowhere (I'm very patient. I fought Sears for 3 months when an in-home service contract I paid for "wasn't in the system" when I finally needed it), then yeah, I'll root the phone. But I'll definitely exhaust all the noise I can make, first.
     

Share This Page

Loading...