Can root make the Fascinate work for me?


Last Updated:

  1. MonmouthDroid

    MonmouthDroid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    6
    I currently have an original droid and am thinking of switching to the fascinate. There is one big, ugly problem. Bing. I hate it. I want google. But, i really like touchwiz (one of the main reasons I like the fascinate over the Droid X and Droid Inc). If I root my phone is there a way to keep touchwiz but get Google search? Also wireless tether would be nice, but not a requirement.
     

    Advertisement
  2. summerfish

    summerfish Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    18
    You didn't see the Sticky?
    http://androidforums.com/samsung-fascinate/173546-google-search-fix-non-root.html

    As for Wireless tether, just get PDAnet. Both of which don't require root either.
     
  3. MonmouthDroid

    MonmouthDroid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    6
  4. summerfish

    summerfish Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    18
    You don't have to use the third party launcher to keep using Google Search. I like TouchWiz more than LauncherPro. I'm using TouchWiz and Google Search together.

    YouTube - Proof
     
  5. MonmouthDroid

    MonmouthDroid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    6
    Sweet. Will root let you use the google search widget too? Or are you stuck with only voice search. There are lots of situations where voice search would be inappropriate to use but I still want google.
     
  6. summerfish

    summerfish Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    18
    You don't need root. Just install the app in the link. You will not have the widget on TouchWiz, but you will have the Search button defaulted to Google. So instead of the widget, just press the Search button and type in whatever, and it searches Google. And it will keep track of what you previously searched. Once again. No Root Needed.

    As for PDAnet, you can download the app from Market, but you'll need to download the PC app from the website.

    BTW, do you have the Fascinate yet?
     
  7. MonmouthDroid

    MonmouthDroid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    6
    No, I am torn between it, the droid x, and the droid incredible. If it weren't for the whole bing issue, it would be the fascinate hands down. Thats why I am so interested in this. I prefer the fascinate in every way to all the other verizon android phones, except bing, and it is very near being a deal breaker for me. But if these really fix it, I am golden. And I knew about PDAnet, but there is a root app called wireless tether that works quite well for me on my droid, and it's free. Thats why I wanted to know if it worked. I am not worried about rooting, as my droid is rooted, and why pay $20 for an app that does the same thing that a free app does just as well.
     
  8. summerfish

    summerfish Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trust me. I'm a phone fanatic. I used to have a new phone every 3 months or less. I had the Droid1 since Day 1, and my sister got the DroidX the week it was released. I played with her's for a while but the size was too big for me. I had to use both hands to use it. I took the plunge and got the Fascinate on account of the screen only. I've since then loved it even more since I was able to get Google Search back. It was a great transition for me. But hey, you have the 30 days to try it out, and exchange if you really want to, plus $35.
     
  9. MonmouthDroid

    MonmouthDroid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    6
    I was totally the same way! There is only 1 other phone I have had longer than my Droid and that was my first phone my mom bought me in high school. I agree about the Droid x. Way too big. I played with it in the store, and my mom has an evo that is roughly the same size (a little smaller actually) and they are just too large. The Droid 2 and Droid Inc are nice, but the screen size,screen quality, and touchwiz on the fascinate are way better. This has pretty much made me decide I want the fascinate.
     
  10. Zegapain

    Zegapain Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    4" screens seem to be the sweet spot. One thing I'm wondering how to do is change which widgets pop up when using LauncherPro. It seems they are random at times.
     
  11. NOsquid

    NOsquid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    65
    I installed this but the search button only does Google in Launcher Pro. Does the capacitative search button do Google for you in TouchWiz?
     
  12. hanano17

    hanano17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    20
    I'm rooted, using TW and my soft key search button goes through Google, and if you long press it, it loads up Google Voice Search. I prefer Wireless Tether to PDAnet (both are in the market, but you have choices).

    NOsquid, I've not tried to do the search fix without rooting, but hit up the link and go to the source. I believe they discuss it with and without root there a little more.

    Monmouth Droid, don't get the Dinc...unless you want to charge your phone 2-3x as much as you would charge the Fascinate (and probably the X). If you aren't afraid to root and just dislike Bing, then the Fascinate won't disappoint you.
     
  13. SirKronan

    SirKronan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    196
    I am successfully rooted, but I can't get wireless tether to work at all. Network didn't show up on my computers' wifi, regardless of channel settings, security settings, etc. Tried bluetooth - no luck either. Can get it to work, even though I made sure it had superuser permissions. I'm having to use the lite version of PDANet again, which is a shame, because wireless tether was so much more handy when I used it on my Droid X. I'll reinstall and try again when I have more spare time. Dang work, you know.
     
  14. hanano17

    hanano17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    20
    There were a few people who said the same thing in the How to Root thread at Android Central, not sure if they ever figured it out or why.
     

Share This Page

Loading...