Can someone help me with creating a nandroid backup?


Last Updated:

  1. Bobby9

    Bobby9 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    4
    So I've rooted my phone but I want to install a custom ROM. I've read that I need (and I definitely want) to create a nandroid backup. The only problem is I have no idea how. I have ROM Manager installed. I read I need to Flash ClockworkMod Recovery so I did that. However, when I try to reboot into recovery either through Rom Manager or just holding volume down and power I get nothing.

    Does anyone have a clear and detailed guide on what to do? I'm not dead set on using Rom Manager I was just reading that it'd be easier.
     

    Advertisement
  2. jasonb1985

    jasonb1985 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    67
    did you go the unrevoked reflash? you need to download their tool and do the reflash before you can make a nandroid backup. rom manager alone will not do it.
     
  3. Bobby9

    Bobby9 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    4
  4. jasonb1985

    jasonb1985 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    67
  5. Bobby9

    Bobby9 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    4
  6. jasonb1985

    jasonb1985 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    67
  7. Bobby9

    Bobby9 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    4
    I just tried doing and it says waiting for reboot... and on the phone it's the pic of the eris looking phone with the triangle! symbol. What am I missing?
     
  8. jasonb1985

    jasonb1985 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    67
    do you have HTC sync, or any other drivers that also interact with an HTC or Android phone on your computer. for me and many others having HTC sync installed caused issues.
     
  9. Bobby9

    Bobby9 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    4
    I uninstalled HTC sync because I couldn't root it and used PDANet instead. Should I uninstall that?
     
  10. jasonb1985

    jasonb1985 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    67
    you'll have to uninstall HTC sync and maybe even PDA net as well. HTC sync has been causing issues with the unrevoked tool for many many people, so that's probably your problem.
     
  11. Bobby9

    Bobby9 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ok, so what should happen? Do I just open up the Flash tool and plug in my phone?
     
  12. jasonb1985

    jasonb1985 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    67
    yup, start up the reflash tool and then plug the fully booted phone into it. you are plugging your phone into your PC with your phone fully booted up, not in recovery or anything. there is a video floating around somewhere. you might want to look for that.
     
  13. Bobby9

    Bobby9 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    4
    Still doing the same thing...must be the driver problem. Anyway to make sure I have all the drivers I've installed uninstalled?
     
  14. jasonb1985

    jasonb1985 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    67
    not to sure man. i had a problem at first and i read that HTC Sync was causing issues for some, so my next step was to uninstall HTC Sync and on my next try it worked. sorry i can't help any further.

    check the thread that's stickied up top and maybe the answer is in there.
     
  15. Bobby9

    Bobby9 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ok got the nandroid backup. Tried to make one in Rom Manager and didn't work. Should I even be bothering with that?
     

Share This Page

Loading...