Can the HTC EVO 4G's 65k color limit possibly be upgraded to 16m colors through rootSupport

Last Updated:

1. prettycocky

prettycocky Member This Topic's Starter

I am new to android, but I am really excited about this phone. It's not really a deal breaker for me, I just see that the HTC Legend does have 16m colors, and it looks very crisp, it also runs the same version of android apparently as the EVO. I just want to know if this can be possibly done, I know that the EVO has a bigger screen and this might be the reason why it's only 65k, but I want a 16m color display for my EVO!:D

Advertisement
  2. THEFORCE

THEFORCE Well-Known Member

my understanding is that its a hardware limitation since the screen is only tft lcd.

3. prettycocky

I think the iphone also has tft but it manages to put out 16m colors

4. gabbott

gabbott Well-Known Member

I don't know the answer to the OP's question but I don't think tft lcd has a limitation of 65k colors. For example, the Palm pre has a tft lcd screen and can show 16M colors.

5. THEFORCE

THEFORCE Well-Known Member

looks like im wrong then

6. neoanderz

neoanderz Active Member

This is almost definitely a hardware issue.

7. NeoteriX

NeoteriX Well-Known Member

It's not necessarily a TFT issue, but it is a hardware issue. Also note that the Motorola Droid features a "24-bit" color screen, and it uses a TFT screen.

The HTC HD2 which many say shares the same screen with the Evo also features a 64k color (16 bit color) limitation. I'm not sure why the screen is limited like that but it seems that's the way it is with whatever screen they've sourced.

8. reallynotnick

reallynotnick Well-Known Member

I'm pretty sure HTC wouldn't put such a weird limit on the phone, at BEST I could see it being upgraded support 262k colors but I have never heard of such a thing and again why wouldn't HTC make it that way if it could.

It's kind of disappointing this phone only has 65k colors when my 3 year old iPhone has 16m.