Can the HTC Sprint Hero be used on any other network


Last Updated:

  1. Bill

    Bill Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    16
    Hello,

    Well Sprint pissed of a co-worker of mine after a few days after the 30 day mark and now wants nothing to do with Sprint. He loves the phone but like I said will have nothing to do with Sprint network. So I am wondering if he has any options with using it on any other network by possibly flashing the phone or something.

    I believe he has settled everything with Spring paid the early termination fees and payed up on his bills. So does he have any options now?

    Thank you

    Bill
     

    Advertisement
  2. jmxp69

    jmxp69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    121
    Eris on VZW is $79 with 2yr contract right now. I don't believe you can move phones around from one CDMA network to another.
     
  3. jmxp69

    jmxp69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    121
    PS He could easily get $79 for a Hero on eBay as long as the ESN is clean.
     
  4. Bill

    Bill Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    16
    Yeah, from what I understand it is technically possible but Verizon will not allow the HTC Sprint hero on their network, Just as Sprint would not allow the Eris on theirs. Which raise an interesting question when the Nexus one comes out for Verizon will sprint make concessions for that phone?


    I mentioned this as well and he did not like the fact he would be in another contract. I think he paid a little over a hundred for the phone then had to pay $200 termination fee. So he has over $300 in the phone now.

    BTW - how does one confirm he has a clean ESN? Does he have to call sprint?

    Thanks
     
  5. Bill

    Bill Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    16
  6. gv8217

    gv8217 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all, I have a droid eris flashed to metropcs and it is working like a champ. Obviously metropcs just flashed the PRL to support voice/txt only. I had to go and make changes to EPST and APN's to enable email/mms and web browsing.
     
  7. newman1411

    newman1411 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey gv8217 I just flashed A Sprint Hero to Metro down here in Tampa.....can you please share your changes on APN's to enable email and MMS Internet!

    would be greatly appreciated!
     

Share This Page

Loading...