Can this happen??!


Last Updated:

  1. boomboy

    boomboy Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello again,

    I have a htc Airtel ( Indian carrier ) locked hero. I know I can get it unlocked. However, that will void the warranty. Can someone please tell me what exactly happens when we "unlock" a phone??

    Would we be able to lock it back if I need to send it to HTC for some repair?

    Would I be able to download latest software from htc without any issues?

    Would I be able to upgrade unlocked phone with new packages htc gives out??

    Also, anyone in here using Airtel htc hero? or a unlocked version..whats the difference?? I know locked phones come with airtel apps..would I be able to delete them once I unlock the phone??

    Thanks a ton!
     

    Advertisement
  2. bluenova

    bluenova OK Computer VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    244
    Unlocking your phone just means you can use a SIM card from a company other than Airtel. It will probably void your warranty with Airtel but you would need to check with them.

    If you got the phone on contract from Airtel you should go to them to get a replacement within the contract period. HTC would not care if it is locked to Airtel or not. Don't confuse this with Rooting, that is something else.

    No, if Airtel use a custom ROM you will need to get your updates from Airtel. You would need to install the stock HTC ROM to get HTC's updates. It's also possible that HTC might provide the Airtel upgrade package directly.

    No, as above.

    No you wouldn't. You would need to root your phone in order to un-install default apps. Unlocking the phone will just allow you to use a SIM card from another provider.
     
    boomboy likes this.
  3. boomboy

    boomboy Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1

    I am on vodafone and want to unlock this phone to use it. I wouldnt want to go to Airtel for any updates or any repairs...I need to contact a service center if my phone gets messedup. does this mean I can still download updates from HTC?

    Am not sure if Airtel uses a customer rom.. if custom rom means having their apps installed in the box, then yes.. they have some apps installed. so am I right in assuming that I need to install htc rom and then look for updates?? am kinda new to smart phones..sorry if these questions seem to be silly. Thanks for your help :)
     
  4. vjprakashbe

    vjprakashbe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    9
    I bought my HTC HERO with Airtel branding in India.

    In India, HTC phones aren't SIM LOCKED; instead it is just branded for a specific carrier/operator - here it is Airtel. Even we are not buying this phone from Airtel outlets... we just go and grab this phone from any mobile retail stores. So, Airtel is not providing warranty to this phone... Just HTC.

    Whatever happens to your phone... it is nothing to do with Airtel. They just branding it for their advertising...

    HTC HERO build number in India is 2.73.720.5.

    Here, there is absolutely "no" contract business. You need to buy the phone with full retail price.

    I think you are thinking about rooting your phone.

    My tips:

    I rooted my phone around 4-5 months back... At that time there were two options.
    1. Flashrec method. - This will not work in Indian brands.
    2. Gold Card. - I folled this to downgrade my phone to WWE (2.73.405.5) -> Then rooted my phone with Flashrec->Amon_RA->Modaco 3.1->Finally settled with Villion 3.3.

    After that, I have read some forums (I am not confirming anything here) like there is oneClick root method OR flash Amon_RA recovery from fastboot directly may work (I am not responsible if anything happens to your phone if you follow this method; I do not think anybody tried this method for Airtel branded phones yet).

    So, read lot of forms and know what you are doing before you do anything...

    Cheers;)
     
  5. boomboy

    boomboy Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    thanks for taking your time... now that you are in India am sure you understand the below situation

    am getting this phone from univercell ( chain of mobile stores ) for 23,000 Rs,. It has airtel written on the box.. when asked the rep told me I need to get it unlocked... I wouldnt want to think about rooting the phone as of now.. I just want to make sure I don't miss out on anything that android has to offer because of unlocking ( required to use my vodafone sim -as advised by rep at univercell,...)

    Are you sure of the phone not sim locked?? and also, I see the phone is coming for quite a cheap price when compared to any other stores... whats your guess of it??

    Did you buy your phone at airtel store?? does it have airtel apps in it??

    thanks again..
     
  6. vjprakashbe

    vjprakashbe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    9
    I bought mine from "The mobile Store". 6 months back it was Rs.33,000. The same one with Airtel name on it.

    No! It is already unlocked. You just need to insert your vodafone SIM. I tried Airtel, Reliance GSM and Aircell before rooting my phone (now settled with BSNL 3G). Everything was working for me.

    You are not going to miss anything because it is already unlocked.
    You can enjoy this phone with existing ROM with any operator. But, I am 99.99999999% sure we will not get any Android ROM updates in future for this ROM version (2.73.720.5). Because it is nothing to do with Airtel OR we aren't undergone for any contract. So, "I believe" if we need next Android version (2.1), need to root it...

    Yes! Provided please check the build no 2.73.720.5 as stated above. I am not sure anything got changed now (but that is unlikely).

    As you are saying it is for Aitel branded and seeing some of their specific apps then it is the same. Now the price has gone down drastically even below HTC MAGIC. You are lucky!:)

    No! "The mobile store - bangalore". Airtel is not selling this phone from their stores and it is nothing to do with them.

    Yes! It was!!! (before rooting and custom ROM)

     
    boomboy likes this.
  7. boomboy

    boomboy Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks a ton man... this is awesome. was worried about loosing warranty cause of unlocking it. yay! cant wait to go and get that brown hero !! they dont have any other colours sadly.. brown it is!!!
     
  8. bluenova

    bluenova OK Computer VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    244
    Brown is good ;). It's not really brown, more black with copper/bronze around the screen.
     
  9. vjprakashbe

    vjprakashbe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    9
    Yes! For us the only choice is brown!!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...